We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend by the sea”
Review of Awel Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Awel Mor
Ranked #4 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arrived at 19:00 on the day and were given a very warm and friendly welcome. Had a very in depth introduction to the B&B, the room and the surrounding area including the best places to go for meals. The staff are very chatty and friendly. The room was absolutely faultless, everything was spot on, the view was breath taking, the facilities were more than could be expected and the room was spotless.
They will always go the extra mile just to make your stay perfect.
The breakfast consisted of a variety of fruit and cereals, along with fresh orange juice. An unlimited serving of tea and coffee. The cooked breakfast was better than any cafe and a good helping of toast is available in white, brown or mixed. This was, by far, the best B&B in North Wales and would certainly stay again. Definitely 5 STAR accommodation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had never stayed in Criccieth before so I looked to the Trip Advisor Community to advise on a great place to stay and they did not disappoint!
Awel Mor is a lovely B&B situated right on the beach front. I chose the sea view room and it was great, absloutely huge room which was spotless and with a great view of the bay. As soon as we arrived Martin made us feel extremely welcome and advised us of some great places to eat in the town (both were perfect). The breakfast was amazing and so was the vegetarian breakfast that I requested.
I would definately reccommend this place and if I am ever to back to Criccieth I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: I'd definately opt for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane_Whit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I love staying here as I feel so at home Martin and Judith are excellent hosts and I make a bee line there whenever I am on the area. Rooms are comfortable spotless and well equipped the breakfast is perfection fresh fruit salad cooked is scrummy with no grease at all no wonderful I keep retuning

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had a really enjoyable stay. Martin & Judith very friendly and nothing too much trouble for them Room very clean with superb view over the bay. Breakfasts delicious with lots of choice. Altogether an excellent place to stay. Ron & Lorna Lightfoot

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at Awel Mor last week and would highly recommend it. Martin & Judith are great friendly hosts with lots of tips for exploring the local area. We stayed in the only family room (double bed and bunk beds) (9) which has amazing views over the bay, and if you're lucky like us you will see dolphins. Breakfast was filling and tasty, and huge thanks to Judith who was more than happy to provide me with gluten free bread and sausages.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabbyEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I came to Criccieth as he had some business to attend to. We booked in Awel Mor using late rooms.com and we're very pleased with what we booked. We were greeted promptly and cheerfully by the owner, who showed us around and to our room. Our room was a large double room with en suite, a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The best bit about the room was the beautiful sea view. Waking up looking out of the bay window at the view was amazing! Our room faced straight out onto the beach, which is literally just across the road. The beach is a sandy pebble beach, which had a small secluded bay right opposite our hotel. We spent an hour on the beach and then decided to eat. There are lots of places to eat and a beautiful ice cream parlour right next to the castle. The small high street boasts a few cafés, pubs and shops. We ate in one of the tearooms, which was reasonably priced and the food was lovely. After lunch, we drove into the nearby beautiful village of Beddegelert, which is about half an hour's drive away. It was a lovely drive, but could be a bit of a challenge for new drivers!
The next morning, after a great night's sleep, we had breakfast. Breakfast is served quite early (8-8:45am) but that was not a problem, as our good sleep meant we were refreshed and ready for 8am. Breakfast consisted of fruit, cereal, toast, tea or coffee and juice and a cooked breakfast (bacon, sausage, mushroom, beans, and poached/fried or scrambled eggs.) For us, this was all included in the price. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and it really set us up for the day and our journey home.
I would definitely recommend Awel Mor to anyone, couples, families, groups, you'll not regret it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

we stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer, comfortable room, super breakfast, lovely setting within view of the castle and parking on-road. Breakfast was very tasty and set us up for the da.

Room Tip: rooms available with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smwgeorgeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Criccieth hotels
0.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#15 of 21 in Criccieth
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gwynle Boutique B & B
Gwynle Boutique B & B
#7 of 21 in Criccieth
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awel Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awel Mor

Address: 29 Marine Terrace, Criccieth LL52 0EL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range: £69 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Awel Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Awel Mor is situated directly on the seafront in the unspoilt town of Criccieth. With spectacular sea views the Awel Mor is only a short stroll to historic Criccieth Castle and to the many restaurants in the town. We are ideally situated for touring the Lleyn Peninsula, the Snowdonia National Park and for visiting the many attractions and beautiful villages nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Awel Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awel Mor Hotel Criccieth
Awel Mor Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing