We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moelwyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Moelwyn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Warm and friendly staff, nice room, good food. The view from the room was lovely. I will come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    34
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
RossendaLE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Lovely friendly, small Hotel with great food.

Excellent views, very peaceful. Nice to wake to the sound of the sea. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great location, good service and friendly staff. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Moelwyn is in a fantastic position overlooking Criccieth bay and there is parking very nearby. We had a good room, with a bay window view over the sea and the mountains. The food in the restaurant is good and there are delicious breakfasts to be had. The staff are very friendly and helpful and make you feel most welcome. We had one difficulty in that the room was missed one day for cleaning and tidying up but when this was brought to the proprietor's attention it was dealt with in a prompt and proper manner. I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: The room we had (room 3) is on the first floor with fabulous views and a nice clean shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnieP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great location, comfortable rooms, great food, excellent public spaces and very accommodating service. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andypandymacanandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
275 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were there one afternoon and had to ask for forks, knives, butter because the waitress kept forgetting. Even worse, the double cream turned out to be shaving foam cream type (the one from a canister) and the jam was of poor quality and badly presented. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoelwynRest, Owner at The Moelwyn, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback which is always useful to us.
I am sorry you were disappointed with your afternoon scone. You visited us on the first day of opening for the season with new staff. No excuse for poor service though and we are looking into our on- the -job training and hopefully providing more supervision so thank you for your comments.
We do not however, and never have used 'squirty' cream, using only fresh local dairy products as we always try to support local businesses
The jams we use are from a reputable local company and are presented in individual portions for hygeine purposes. I am sorry you found that disappointing and hope you will visit us again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We had a very enjoyable four night stay at the end of November for a short break. In terms of location and how other B&Bs we were considering looked from the outside once we got there, we think we couldn't have chosen better.

Given a choice when booking, we opted for a larger sea view but smaller shower room and that is exactly what we got, a fantastic view across the bay and an ensuite shower room with rather a small basin, toilet and shower. It was great waking up to the sound of the sea crashing against the shore just a few yards outside the window.

The room was not particularly modern (except for the flat screen TV) but was clean, warm and in good condition except for a creaky bed frame.

Breakfast was excellent with all of the usual items available and very well cooked. Being out of season the restaurant was only open for reservations and was closed every night that we were there so we chose to eat out at Spice Bank (good), Tir-a-Mor and Poachers (both excellent).

Overall we had no complaints and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moelwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moelwyn

Property: The Moelwyn
Address: Mona Terrace, Criccieth, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moelwyn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a pair of Victorian Townhouses, Moelwyn offers six en suite, individually furnished bedrooms and a quality restaurant of enviable reputation, specialising in seafoods. The ideal choice for a relaxed short break holiday.With a stylish yet informal atmosphere, the restaurant has established an enviable reputation for the quality of our cuisine and boasts some of the finest views on the North Wales Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moelwyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moelwyn Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing