We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Val M Good Value, Great Food”
Review of The Moelwyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Moelwyn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Val M Good Value, Great Food”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Enjoyed excellent dinner at the Moelwyn great food served with a smile by the very friendly and
very efficient staff. Great evening looking forward to going back to Criccieth and staying at the Moelwyn.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valjmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    36
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
60
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Warm and friendly staff, nice room, good food. The view from the room was lovely. I will come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossendaLE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Lovely friendly, small Hotel with great food.

Excellent views, very peaceful. Nice to wake to the sound of the sea. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great location, good service and friendly staff. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Moelwyn is in a fantastic position overlooking Criccieth bay and there is parking very nearby. We had a good room, with a bay window view over the sea and the mountains. The food in the restaurant is good and there are delicious breakfasts to be had. The staff are very friendly and helpful and make you feel most welcome. We had one difficulty in that the room was missed one day for cleaning and tidying up but when this was brought to the proprietor's attention it was dealt with in a prompt and proper manner. I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: The room we had (room 3) is on the first floor with fabulous views and a nice clean shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnieP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great location, comfortable rooms, great food, excellent public spaces and very accommodating service. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andypandymacanandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were there one afternoon and had to ask for forks, knives, butter because the waitress kept forgetting. Even worse, the double cream turned out to be shaving foam cream type (the one from a canister) and the jam was of poor quality and badly presented. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoelwynRest, Owner at The Moelwyn, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback which is always useful to us.
I am sorry you were disappointed with your afternoon scone. You visited us on the first day of opening for the season with new staff. No excuse for poor service though and we are looking into our on- the -job training and hopefully providing more supervision so thank you for your comments.
We do not however, and never have used 'squirty' cream, using only fresh local dairy products as we always try to support local businesses
The jams we use are from a reputable local company and are presented in individual portions for hygeine purposes. I am sorry you found that disappointing and hope you will visit us again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
690 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
5.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moelwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moelwyn

Property: The Moelwyn
Address: Mona Terrace, Criccieth, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moelwyn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a pair of Victorian Townhouses, Moelwyn offers six en suite, individually furnished bedrooms and a quality restaurant of enviable reputation, specialising in seafoods. The ideal choice for a relaxed short break holiday.With a stylish yet informal atmosphere, the restaurant has established an enviable reputation for the quality of our cuisine and boasts some of the finest views on the North Wales Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Moelwyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moelwyn Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing