We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Seaside Hotel with Great Views & Lovely Rooms”
Review of The Moelwyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Moelwyn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Small & quaint hotel that sits in the shadow of Criccieth Castle and right on the beach front. Great location - although in the middle of nowhere - that has small but very nice rooms. Food is good too, although I couldn't tell you the difference between a Welsh & English breakfast!

Room Tip: Go for the room with the 4-poster bed... very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaShotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoelwynRest, Owner at The Moelwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit and found us quaint and I trust that being 'in the middle of nowhere' is not a bad thing-- we rather like it!!!
Hope to see you again sometime,
Regards, Olwen and Tom Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

Just got back from here last night after staying in The Moelwyn for two nights. The location's perfect, overlooking the sea and mountains in the distance, beautiful. The room we had was room 2, the four poster bed room, spacious room and comfortable bed, plenty of tea and coffee and a T.V. If needed. The en-suite has a bath in it, towels changed regularly and plenty of hot water. The restaurant has some tables overlooking the sea, the food is absolutely delicious - plenty of choice and a reasonable priced wines. We ate in on the 2 nights and then had a stroll along the prom before turning in. The staff were very nice and we had an early breakfast the 2nd.morning, which was no trouble for them - again plenty of choice and sets you up for the day. The bus services from here are excellent and I went to Porthmadog, Pwllheli and Caernarfon on my 3day visit. Excellent break!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mezw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoelwynRest, Owner at The Moelwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

thank you for your lovely review.
this is what we aim to achieve and work so hard for!!
It makes all the hard work worthwhile when we get it right.
Hope to see you again,
Regards, Olwen and Tom Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We (4 adults and 3 children) visited on Wednesday last week after arriving late in Criccieth for our evening meal. we had a quick drive through the town and decided very quickly to see if the Moelwyn had any tables free (8.30pm for 7 isnt always easy!). They only had outside and we we're a little reluctant as the sun had gone down and starting to get that Wales chill in the air. The manager told us about 2.5k worth of patio heaters and we jumped at the chance! Perfect view over looking the full bay of Criccieth. Would the food match up.

Drinks order taken and Welsh Lamb ordered..... wine list was limited but high quality, settled for a lovely bottle of Rose Prosseco which was fab. GREAT meal, GREAT service from ALL staff and all round GREAT GREAT GREAT.

Started off our holiday in style. Got here, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Excellent accomodation, we had sea views from both windows. Food was great we tried breakfast, lunch and dinner. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks for the late night cocktails drank outside overlooking the sea. A really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LottieHawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Had lunch with my bezzy mate here last week. Sat in the window table overlooking a (grey and rough!) sea. Have also been there when it's been clear blue skies and calm sea, or a moonlit night. Beautiful position. Good choice on menu. Friendly service. Ala Carte menu is delicious and excellent value for the 3 course meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Service is unobtrusive and I found myself tempted to please them, rather than the other way around. Just little things - (they didn't give me wifi password at check-in) and not finding it in the literature in the room I then searched hotel and no one about (no answer to reception bell, no one in kitchen, etc, then rang their phone repeatedly and no answer or answering machine). I would like to think this was a glitch but...
It's always a bad sign when I feel I am imposing (felt a bit the same at breakfast). I believe proprietors and staff must go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and wanted.
Apart from this room for improvement, the establishment had a lot to offer, albeit characterful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Recently stayed at moelwyn, greeted by owner, who was incredibly kind to two walkers. Room overlooked the sea and was nicely appointed and very clean. Enjoyed a really tasty locally sourced fish dinner, wine very well priced. Breakfast had to be the scrummiest kippers in Wales. Thank you

Stayed: June 2012
Thank pammiewallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
242 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moelwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moelwyn

Address: Mona Terrace, Criccieth, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: £84 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moelwyn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a pair of Victorian Townhouses, Moelwyn offers six en suite, individually furnished bedrooms and a quality restaurant of enviable reputation, specialising in seafoods. The ideal choice for a relaxed short break holiday.With a stylish yet informal atmosphere, the restaurant has established an enviable reputation for the quality of our cuisine and boasts some of the finest views on the North Wales Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Moelwyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moelwyn Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing