We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why I keep going back”
Review of The Moelwyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Moelwyn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Fabulous views over the Bay. Lulled to sleep by the lapping waves. If Greg Wallace and John Torode have not sampled this chef's food, they should! Wide menu choice.Local produce. Well cooked and beautifully presented. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidRJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Breakfast and dinner I thought where excellent.
Great to see local produce and some items on the menu sort from personal experience.
All the staff at the hotel where very pleasant despite being busy.
The hotel has a superb location
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent last-night at the moelwyn with 5 of our friends. Fab location, bedrooms were all clean with lovely views of the sea. The highlight for us was the exceptionally high standard, gorgeous evening meal cooked by Dave the chef, it was superb. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heathersM8257ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on the 28th,29th April.We had the half board deal. We stayed in room 2,a lovely room facing the sea with a 4 poster bed, it was clean and well decorated.It was great to wake and see and hear the sea through the open window. All of the staff were friendly and very welcoming. The owner was very happy to explain the history of the place and was obviously proud of the reputation his food had.He explained that there was an ongoing programme of refurbishment of the 6 rooms. We ate from the 3 course menu on the first night which was part of the half board deal.The food was fantastic, and for £22 each was a real bargain.The restaurant was busy with many local people-always a good sign. On the second night we ate from the A la Carte menu and again the food was outstanding. Even better was the fact that the money we had paid for the half board deal was deducted from the total cost. Each night we had the house wine, red and white, they were both good. The breakfasts were specially made to your requirements from quality ingredients. We also had one lunch from the seafood menu, mussels in sauce, chips, bread all delicious, with a glass of tasty fizz only £33-good value. The town was quiet and delightful with friendly pubs and shops. We will return and stay at the Moelwyn again to enjoy its food and friendly charm. Next time we will probably take advantage of the better prices when a 3 night break is booked.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a room with a 4 poster bed and a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveAnneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here for lunch today with my husband and two pre-schoolers. Staff were attentive and friendly and food was incredible. Choice was not vast but in my opinion that often means what you get will be great rather than mediocre. Kids and husband had different paninis (ham/cheese for kids and chicken, peppers & red onion marmalade), even our 2 yr old daughter who rarely eats enjoyed it and the homemade chips were so good my husband ordered a second portion after being forced to share the first!
I had smoked haddock fish cakes with the most delicious homemade chilli sauce and salad and didn't regret my choice one bit (wish I'd ordered an extra to bring home as I could just eat it again right now!)
The setting, overlooking the bay was breathtaking, granted this was helped by the perfect weather today.
Yes, we'll be back either later in our holiday this week or next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Champers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was the last stop of our four-day roadtrip and we'd especially booked it for the promised dinner. We were not disappointed. It definitely lived up to our expectation and more.
Keep up the good work and good luck for the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanneke-Engelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

First class, very friendly, good food, nice room. Picturesque views, would love to come back one day stayed for festival # 6 well located. Could have done with shampoo but otherwise very nice. The staff were amazing and very helpfull.

Room Tip: Room 6 up the top, great viws, quite quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahSimon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
701 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
0.1 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moelwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moelwyn

Address: Mona Terrace, Criccieth, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range: £85 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moelwyn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a pair of Victorian Townhouses, Moelwyn offers six en suite, individually furnished bedrooms and a quality restaurant of enviable reputation, specialising in seafoods. The ideal choice for a relaxed short break holiday.With a stylish yet informal atmosphere, the restaurant has established an enviable reputation for the quality of our cuisine and boasts some of the finest views on the North Wales Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moelwyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moelwyn Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing