We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in relaxed setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poachers Restaurant

Poachers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$37
Cuisines: British, Welsh, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family-run business for over 20 years offering deliciously home-cooked traditional British and international dishes for excellent value.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food in relaxed setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

All the plaudits are truly justified...the Fish Medley is a wonderful dish. We had mains and deserts and all the food was superb. Exceptional taste and flavour with generous portions.Ambience is nice and relaxed. Great value for this quality. Excellent menu of delightful dishes. Highly Recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    104
    19
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
348 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Worth a trip out in Gwynedd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were four hungry golfers, and by the end of a two course meal, three bottles of wine, we were all £37.50 light in pocket, but extremely satisfied with value for that.
We had starters of mackerel pate, and one pancake with excellent spicy mince; and main courses of lamb, pheasant, and coq au vin. All commented on the excellent sauces, meats, flavours and quality. no sea views, no elaborate decoration, but the AirCon was very welcome ion a very hot evening. Well worth a drive, but better still if you are staying in Criccieth!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went to Poachers on our first night in Criccieth after reading the good reviews. We weren't disappointed. They had a fixed menu for a reasonable price. The food was delicious and plenty of it. We were too full for dessert so shared the cheese board which was very tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank angiebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Evenng Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

After reading recent reviews we had to come here for dinner
Certainly not disappointed, my wife had the fish medley which she said you could taste all the different types of fish, mine was the duck breast, wow, cooked as I like it in a rich sauce & plenty of it
Would definitely recommend here, derserves all the previous comments

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

just wow, surroundings service and food, went without booking as we were eating very early, we really like the look of the menu as the choice is outstanding

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bradneymrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poachers Restaurant also viewed

Criccieth, Gwynedd
Criccieth, Gwynedd
 
Criccieth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Poachers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing