We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at reasonable prices”
Review of Y Sospan Cafe

Y Sospan Cafe
Ranked #12 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: 1606 old gaol building serving no last suppers but tasty breakfasts and hearty home made lunches curated to your individual needs. Teas and coffees made to your specific instructions (no soya or skinny options available sorry, our milk is semi-skimmed). Gluten free options available - please ask your server for advice.
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Six of us ate here and everyone enjoyed their meals. Only complaint would be that it was a bit cold even though it was July. Well worth it though.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DunvegasLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

We happened on the restaurant at the recommendation of our B&B hosts - oops - really bad choice. the place wasn't especially busy and brought us our wine and a very nice asparagus soup right away. And then we waited, and waited and waited.

After being assured numerous times that our order was next in line and then having the waitresses ignore us for the next 1/2 hour and having finished out bottle of wine, we asked for our check. Paid and left. They said they were sorry, but certainly charged us for everything with no discount- nice work...not

We discovered the following day that another couple in our B&B had also been there and had had the exact same experience. they said they had written a similar post.

Truly an experience not to be repeated - so beware.

3  Thank learyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

I'll keep this short, but it won't be sweet. 80 minutes is the longest I've ever waited for food ... and then to be served fish pie consisting mostly of veg. There are so many other good choices in Dolgellau ... don't waste your time here.

4  Thank Fearless709812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hello, and many thanks for your valued feedback. With apologies, due to staffing issues we were unable to meet your expectations on the evening - please ask to speak to the duty manager next time you visit who will be happy to resolve your issues. In the meantime, best wishes :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Arrived 7.45pm, ordered by 7.50pm and food arrived 9.15pm. No apology, no updates until we asked and were then told an untruth. No fault of waitresses who did their best. Won't be going back in a hurry - if at all.

4  Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

If you are thinking of calling in for a snack and a beer, then think again, the beer officer will not allow it to happen. I was told that I could only have a beer if I ' ordered a full meal' Cue rapid exit to to The Ship Hotel opposite where they were more than happy to serve me with a beer.
Come on Sospan get yourself sorted out, this is 2017 not 1917!

    • Service
2  Thank Mercman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Sospan Cafe also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Sospan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing