We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$36
Cuisines: British, Bar, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a great restaurant and bar in the centre of Dolgellau. What was the original old County jailhouse has been skilfully converted into a contemporary, stylish and yet cosy restaurant serving traditional British dishes with a Welsh twist using mostly local produce. The ground floor bar is a great place to unwind and relax with a drink or light meal. Booking is essential, please check for opening times. Please note we are unable to cater for children under 8 years old.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Meirionnydd was lovely. A great choice of Welsh cider and larger to drink. Food was good, pate was rather spicy for my taste buds and the fish of the day was a little dry for my liking, but flavours were wonderful. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    70
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Made to feel very welcome here"”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked this restaurant well in advance on the strength of it's reviews and it totally lived up to our expectations. The staff are friendly and efficient. It was a warm evening so we had a lovely bottle of chilled Prosecco (very reasonably priced), on the patio whilst choosing our meal.

The food was great. I had the lamb, pink and tender, whilst my husband chose to have steak, equally tender. The atmosphere here is very relaxed and easy and we had a lovely evening. Many thanks, Steve and Janet Tai, Preston.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Steve & Janet and thank you for writing such a fantastic review. We appreciate you taking the time to book ahead and are pleased that we more than met your expectations - we really do try to spoil our guests, that's why so many return time and time again. It's great that the weather was good to enable you to sit on our terrace and watch the town go by, I couldn't think of a better way to enjoy a Saturday evening!
We look forward to welcoming you both next time either as hotel or restaurant guests.
Marc, Nick and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Superb food, delightful staff”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was lucky enough to celebrate my birthday at this wonderful classy restaurant. The food was outstanding - the best lamb dish I have ever eaten (accompanied by a fantastic and very reasonably priced shiraz) and I would kill for the chocolate cake recipe!!! The atmosphere is sophisticated but relaxed, the staff are professional and friendly, especially the owners who are true gentlemen and really understand what hospitality is all about.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Diana,
Wow, what an absolutely brilliant review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it.
We all have birthdays and know how special they can be if they're spent with the right company in the right place and therefore we make every effort to ensure you and your party have a wonderful time as you obviously did.
From a very proud owner, many thanks indeed and we hope to be welcoming you again in the not too distant future,
Marc, Nick and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal and very welcoming”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had seen the restaurant online and stupidly didn't pre-book a table and just turned up on the night. The restaurant was quite busy as it was a Saturday night however the owner very kindly asked us if we would like to wait a little while and he would have a table for us within half an hour.
As it was a lovely warm evening we were more than happy to wait in the patio area at the front and enjoy a bottle of wine!
We were taken to our table in the dining room which was lovely, even though the room was small there was a great atmosphere!
I ordered the salmon which was fantastic, it was cooked perfectly! My fiancé had the lamb and said it was a great cut of lamb.
I would recommend booking beforehand to anyone wanting to go, however I would like to thank the owner again for being so accommodating and not turning us away!
Thank you very much, it was a really enjoyable and very tasty food with great wine!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C_W_L_G-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello CWLG, thank you so much for writing a lovely review, we were so pleased we managed to find you a table as Saturday is always a full house but we usually have a table or two free before the night is out. Our guests having a relaxing and memorable evening is so important to us so I'm pleased to see that you had a lovely evening. We look forward to welcoming you both soon,
Marc, Nick and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible lamb”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a great evening here with superb service and excellent food. Lamb and vegetables were all sourced locally and beautifully prepared and presented.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eej1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello eej1212 and thank you for writing such a great review all the way from Canada, we really appreciated it and have passed on your comments to our chefs. The lamb is our pride and joy, we have an excellent local butcher who sends only the very best Lamb from local farms, then its cooked by one of our excellent chefs. The result is what you had that evening, a superb Welsh Lamb dish in our lovely restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you both again,
Marc, Nick and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Meirionnydd also viewed

 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing