We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$36
Cuisines: British, Bar, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a great restaurant and bar in the centre of Dolgellau. What was the original old County jailhouse has been skilfully converted into a contemporary, stylish and yet cosy restaurant serving traditional British dishes with a Welsh twist using mostly local produce. The ground floor bar is a great place to unwind and relax with a drink or light meal. Booking is essential, please check for opening times. Please note we are unable to cater for children under 8 years old.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Myself and a group of 3 friends had a meal here last week, and the food was amazing. We all had the same, vegetarian tart with chips - I can honestly say the chips were the best I have ever tasted in a restaurant. The drinks selection is extensive and we were spoiled for choice but I do recommend the 'Wandering Bear' merlot(!) on the wine list. The chocolate torte was a delicious dessert and despite being full I managed to polish it off. My partner had the cheese board which he enjoyed too.

The service is excellent, staff are very attentive and polite. The ceilings are low downstairs so you have to watch your head on the beams, but staff do point this out repeatedly and there has even been padding added to them just in case. The decor in this place is lovely too and I loved being seated in a corner bench with cushions.

Will definitely be going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Redilma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This establishment has been in the town for about six years. The size of the menu is just right; even so there were several items that we could have chosen. The service was excellent. It is highly recommended, especially for a special occasion.

Thank marple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a lovely restaurant (with rooms) in Dolgellau. It's in a beautiful building and you either eat on the ground floor in the Georgian part of the building or downstairs in the old jail...old stone walls and a great ambience.
We chose the three courses (£27) and the food was delicious. It's mostly local produce and it is of excellent quality and very well cooked. There is a good choice of dishes and also of the wines available. The service is great. There is plenty of time between courses and waiting staff are attentive but not overly. You are not pushed through the meal and it becomes an evening event...really enjoyable. It's not a place perhaps where you go in your walking gear but neither do you need to wear posh clothes! The food is definitely the focus here.
Book if you want to go as it gets quite full. I really recommend it - it's a great, well priced treat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RtBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Rt Bristol, thank you so much for writing such a great review, you're a great Ambassador for us!
We are pleased that you could make a full evening of it. We don't rush our guests if they don't want to be rushed, the table is yours for the night so you can really enjoy our lovely food, great service and ambiance to the full.
We look forward to welcoming you both again,
Marc, Nick and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was a sophisticated, beautifully served meal: best lamb ever! These inns have an interesting way of serving that I haven't seen in the US: You sit for a while in the lounge with your drink, give your order and when you get to your table, your dinner is ready. We had two such meals, so thoughtfully served. Atmosphere and food A-1.

Thank brownhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hello Brownhoff
Thank you for writing such a lovely review, we really appreciate it and I've passed it on to our team to enjoy. Our restaurant has a 'neighbourhood' style, relaxed, welcoming and friendly, not 'fine dining' with airs and graces but with all the ingredients for a great night out.
We only serve the best lamb, locally sourced of course from a great Butcher. Combined with a great chef and presented in our lovely restaurant and you have a perfect evening to savour for a long time.
We look forward to welcoming you both back when you're over here again,
Marc, Nick and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited to celebrate some good news. Again we we're made to feel very special.

The food was 1st class, three bean soup was out of this world.

The whole experience for us was excellent.

However BOOK, it gets full very easily and I'd you dine here you'll see why.

Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hello Peter - and what great news it was too, we are all genuinely happy for the both of you but you have to keep us informed!
Good advise about booking ahead, we are always booked up at weekends and now the summers in full swing we are very busy on weekdays too.
We really look forward to welcoming you both again, and take care both of you,
Marc, Nick and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Meirionnydd also viewed

 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing