We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really poor service and extremelly small portions of food (suitable perhaps for three year olds!"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Ship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Ship Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really poor service and extremelly small portions of food (suitable perhaps for three year olds!"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

I feel it only fair to inform you of our very poor experience we had following lunch at your hotel today. My husband and I arrived at noon to ask for a lunch menu. The waitress brought the menu (minus the senior citizen's one) I, after trying to catch her eye for some time - because she was talking to another person on Reception - had to leave the table to ask for this menu and then I had to ask if we could have drinks. My husband ordered the rice meal from the senior citizen's menu. I ordered the beef dinner meal after specifically asking if this came with the horseradish sauce separately and being told 'yes', asking what the vegetables were and stating I only wanted to have carrots. The meals (delivered by a different waitress) arrived extremely quickly (in my opinion too quickly to have been prepared fresh). My husband's meal was satisfactory. My meal came with mixed vegetables, two 'small' potatoes and 'swimming' in a very watery 'sauce'. I immediately told the waitress I could not eat this and asked for the menu to choose again. The waitress who took our original order came back, laughingly stating she didn't realise the sauce came on the beef, but said it was because the kitchen had no gravy to serve with the roast beef (I have never been offered a roast dinner without gravy in my life!), also I noticed this meal had two 'small' potatoes and an extremely small portion of vegetables, and again, laughingly 'sort of apologised' about the mixed vegetables mistake. I quickly chose the sausage and mashed potato. My husband finished his main meal and then I was served mine - two sausages and the equivalent of a scoop of mashed potato and spoonful of carrots - this would have been adequate for my four year old granddaughter but not an adult meal. I then spent another five minutes trying to attract the attention of a waitress to ask for mint sauce, I then waited another five minutes to receive this. The plates were removed and my husband was served his dessert. I again had to try to catch the attention of a waitress to ask for a dessert menu and when I complained that I think I should have been offered the dessert menu before my husband was served with his, the waitress who took our original order muttered as she was walking away, I 'probably' would have been offered the menu at 'some' time.

I was also disappointed with the wine I was served. I asked for a medium/dry wine and what I received was a very sweet wine. Not even a very good one.

I consider the first waitress was far less than attentive, the normal menu should have larger portions, I would not like to see a child's meal on offer at your hotel. I would appreciate your comments.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeans45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    138
    66
    32
    35
See reviews for
79
203
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lake district
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

lovely, large, well furnished,duel aspect room. very clean bathroom and excellent toileteries. great hospitality from check in to check out (last minute booking). very pretty building.very good breakfast selection and fast service. comfy bed.
down points... one blanket on bed, no duvet.... noisy outside till 1pm (tuesdey night)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

Stayed at this hotel, had stayed before, when the stay was average.

But from my experience, would advise to stay away. In a shabby room, heating not working, had to get electric heater, also only bath and water not heating.

Did not eat at hotel, although there is a cafe next to hotel, with free internet use and wireless, which I would definetly recommend for food and service.

Breakfast not to bad, but overall not a place i could recommend, particularly due to the price/

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moon_uk_dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

29th January, 2010.
Recently my husband & I visited the AA 2 star hotel, THE ROYAL SHIP in Dolgellau.
My husband had a roast beef dinner & I ordered croquette with mushrooms in cream. We had a long, uncomfortable wait for our meal and as the heating (in January) was barely on we did not remove our coats. Eventually, the food arrived. It consisted of one slice of beef (rather tough), a generous amount of gravy, one piece of very undercooked cauliflower, a small piece of broccoli & three potatoes (in their skins) which were only marginally bigger than large marbles. The other plate held a croquette with a circumference about the same as that of a fish cake but it was only half the thickness. The mushrooms in cream (a table-spoonful) had been decorated with shredded parsley. Since the second meal only covered about ¼ of a plate I waited for the rest of the food to arrive. Eventually, we asked a waitress where it was & were astonished to find there was nothing to be added. She did, however, ask if I’d like some potatoes & brought some on a small side plate – four more “marbles” with two packets of butter. I gave my husband one to stave off his hunger! Both meals were totally & utterly inadequate.
Our desserts, chocolate fudge cakes, were small but tasty, unlike the synthetic cream that went with it. The coffee was acceptable.
We will NEVER set foot in the ROYAL SHIP HOTEL again. They could teach Dick Turpin a trick or two!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymro37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

I would like to comment on how wonderful this hotel was for our stay over the Christmas holidays. We stayed as part of a winter package that they were offering which included bed and breakfast for three nights and the meal for those days. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist who severed us great home-made mould wine and Christmas biscuits, the evening meal was exceptional. Christmas Dinner was out of this world I have never had such great food in such a small place, the service was excellent and the atmosphere amazing all staff were helpful and although it was a full house, every customer was looked after. This is not the first time I have visited the hotel I was here during the summer season which was wet, but the hotel was fully booked although the service was a little slow, the place was full and was not a problem to wait with another glass of their sufficient house wine, after all the food is all freshly prepared and its not a fast food place!!!! Both times the rooms were very clean and appropriate for there use and who cares when you are surrounded with such natural beauty, there was a great view from the window of the mountains! At breakfast every morning we were greeted by the very friendly and helpful owner asking if all was ok. Well we enjoyed our stay and hope that others don't listen to the negativity on here! WE WILL BE BACK!! and for longer next time!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvopabe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Wales, U.K
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

We live locally and were taking my mother-in-law for Sunday lunch on her birthday, with other members of our family - 5 in all. We chose The Ship because the weather was too bad to travel anywhere else although we had our doubts from past experience. On arrival the place was not just cold but very cold- feeling the radiators we discovered they were off. It was probably the coldest day this winter so far - snow on the ground! Bad start! The waitress showed us to our table but only gave us the a la carte menu and disappeared. As I had booked for Sunday lunch I went the desk to ask for the special Sunday lunch menu and was then given it. In the meantime my father-in-law asked about the heating and the waitress pointed to a radiator as if this was an answer! My mother spent the entire meal with her coat on. The "vegetable' soup was thick green peppery sludge - all you could taste was the pepper - but it was warm and as we were all cold it warmed us up! It turned out there was a choice of bread roll but noone had asked our preferences so we just had what came. The main courses were ok - nothing but adequate - but my husband's Lamb Henri tasted like 'boil in the bag' he said. My father-in-law had to go off in search of mint sauce and horseradish before we could eat. They sent two very small dishes of vegetables - we had to ask for more - so did the people next to us! The veg was overcooked to slush and very watery. There were 8 circles of carrot between 5 of us!! Whatever you do don't have the house white - it was disgusting - not very cold and sweet. Puddings and cheese were ok but no choice of pud- only bread and butter pudding offered. The waitress knocked over my mother's wine while giving her the dessert menu but left the soaking table cloth on for the rest of the meal, didn't clear it up and didn't offer to replace the wine! We had to ask for extra serviettes.
No-one asked us if our meals were ok and no-one came to see if we wanted the bill. Everyone went out and I went to the desk where I paid the bill to a woman who didn't ask how our meal was and didn't smile once - I have rarely felt so unwelcome and had such a bad combination of food and service. Rest assured I will be spreading the word around the area and word of mouth is very powerful in this rural community.
To anyone holidaying here- my advice? - Don't go near the place - go to the Sospan opposite, or almost anywhere else instaed!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettieandLewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

After reading negative reviews I was wary of this hotel, But went for a drink and sat outside on their benches. There is a small bar area inside with newspapers to read. The communal areas were clean and service was fine. I had a meal in the evening which was good quality Seabass and vegetables. A number of people came in asking if they could have a hot drink only while waiting for nearby infrequent buses. They were welcomed which I thought was a nice touch even though they were busy. There are few places open for a hot drink in the evening nearby. The ship is in the centre so quite a focal point of Dolgellau.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Ship Hotel

Property: The Royal Ship Hotel
Address: Queens Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team offer you a warm welcome to The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau. The Royal Ship Hotel is an early 19th century Coaching Inn, in the heart of the old Market Town of Dolgellau. We are ideally situated to explore the beauty of North and Mid Wales. Located in the picturesque Snowdonia National Park. The Hotel is surrounded by mountains, rivers and fishing lakes and is only a few minutes drive from the coast of the Irish Sea. It is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break. The Hotel offers 23 bedrooms. There are 17 en suite rooms and the remaining 6 rooms have private allocated bathrooms. You can choose between Single, Double, Twin or Triple rooms. Some of our rooms have an attractive view over the Town Square and the Cader Idris Mountain Range. All rooms are well equipped with tea & coffee facilities, TV and local tourist information. We can cater for large groups and families. Pets welcome.Surrounded by Mountains, Rivers, Lakes and the Seaside, you are spoiled for choice with the activities this stunning landscape has to offer. Walking, Biking, Lake & River Fishing, Wild Water Rafting, Canoeing, Hill Climbing, High Adventure Parks, Trekking, Golfing, Bird Watching, atmospheric native Welsh Castles and the magnificent Edwardian World Heritage Castles. So whatever your interest or passion for the outside world involves, The Royal Ship is the place for you.This historic Coaching Inn has 23 individually furnished bedrooms, a residents bar, public bar with games room and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Ship Hotel Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing