We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and excellent value stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“comfortable and excellent value stay”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Booked this B and B last minute as a business stay. It would seem that it looks anything but a place suitable for the business traveler but don't be fooled. Whilst it is certainly a place well suited to the tourist, especially walkers and mountain bikers, and seemingly very adequately catered for in that department, I had a warm welcome, a comfortable room, and even more comfortable bed,an excellent breakfast, and unbeatable value.

There's something so unique about places like these that you feel you are in someones living room having breakfast, sleeping in their spare room and sharing with them what they do for themselves. You can see when you stay away so much that Ty Seren wouldn't suit everyone but I left in the morning wanting to go back and wishing I had a little more time to take advantage of a lot more on offer in this beautiful part of Wales and this lovely little guest house.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tudor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
63
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay - and I aim to stay there again on future visits to North Wales.

Nick and Sharon are a really nice couple, who "go the extra mile for their guest". I actually felt I was being treated like an old friend when I turned up - a year after my previous visit.

They are a great source of information on the local area - walks etc, so it's well worth tapping into their knowledge.

The building has heaps of character and is a stones throw from the shop. There is some parking available outside, which is handy.

My room was warm and plenty big enough. The bed and the bedding were - extremely comfortable. I actually think think it's the most comfortable one I've had in a B&B! The front room is a nice place to hang out/eat - excellent fire and friendly dog.

The shower isn't state of the art, but that didn't matter in the slightest. It was really nice and hot - much needed after days spent walking.

Perhaps the biggest compliment I can pay is to say that I will seriously consider staying there even when walking in the northern part of the park, which is some distance away.

Nick and Sharon strike me as people who are happy to respond to sensible, well-imentioned suggestions about their business. That said, I wouldn't have anything myself, as I was really happy with my stay.

Having stayed twice, I feel confident in saying that Ty Seren is a really excellent establishment!


Si

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonrhysphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

What a warm and friendly reception. Owners Nick and Sharon made us (my husband, children and puppy Poppy) feel welcome upon arrival. We rang up on speck and were pleasantly surpised at the price of the familty room. The room was great, adjoining doors gave some privacy and the ensuite was lovely. If you like an old building with character this fits the bill. Loved the artefacts and rooms were aptly named. Comfortable beds, plenty of starage should you need it and a wonderfull Welsh breakfast cooked to suit our tastes.
As the owners have a lovely dog 'Ruby' our puppy was made to feel welcome.
Thank you Nick and Sharon, we shall certainly recommend you to our friends and hopefully return later in the year as Mark wants to ride at Coed-y-Brenin which visited on our way out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

How many times have you stayed at a B & B to be greeted by the owner with "Welcome - I've just come back from climbing Everest!!". Nick is an amazing guy, a wonderful character who just loves talking to his guests. He is so interesting that I could easily imaging staying there all day and never leaving! Which would be a shame because the countryside and mountains around are amongst the most beautiful in the British Isles. Nick & Sharon are consummate hosts and cannot do enough for you. As soon as my two friends and I said we intended to climb Cader Idris, Nick immediately said "which way are you going to go", got out his Ipad with Google Earth and showed us his own preferred route, which involved starting from the car park near Tal-y-Llyn lake and walking back over the mountain to Dolgellau. And Sharon got out the car and promptly drove us to the start point. You could not wish to meet a kinder and more considerate couple - oh and Sharon (& Nick) do a fabulous breakfast which would be impossible to beat! We cannot recommend Ty Seren highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaycee-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

What a great welcome and lovely stay. Our family was very comfortable in the 'Spinning Room' (actually two adjoining rooms). Breakfast was perfect. The girls loved meeting Nick's birds and the family cat, and his pictures of Everest were amazing. Ty Seren is right in the center of Dolgellau, an easy walk to pubs and restaurants. Nick's suggestions for nearby walks were great. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandurah
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Ty Seren is a lovely 200 year old ex woolen mill set in a lovely village in North Wales.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and the breakfasts are lovely. The village has everything one needs as far as pubs, restaurants and souvenirs goes. Snowdonia, Harlech and the wonderfully bizarre Portmeirion are only short drives away.
Hosts Sharon and Nick are warm, friendly and have great local knowledge which they are only too happy to pass on.
Would definitely stay again.
Martin and Karen Western Australia

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas G, Manager at Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 February 2016
Hi Martin and Karen,
we were so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try our best to make everyone
welcome, as maybe one day you will return!!
kind regards
Nick and
Sharon





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Ty Seren is a lovely B&B with fabulous breakfasts and a friendly atmosphere. Our room at the top of the house was very comfortable, and Nick and Sharon did everything they could to make our stay a happy one. Nick has an excellent knowledge of the area and suggested some good walking routes. They also lent us OS maps and guides and even a pair of bicycles so we could cycle along the estuary to Barmouth. Dolgellau is a nice little town with some good eateries, and nicely central for all the places we wanted to explore while in North Wales. Excellent value, and we hope we can come back again soon.

Room Tip: We were in the Weaver's room at the top of the house, which is very nice (though very tall peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#4 of 34 in Dolgellau
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy House
Ivy House
#15 of 34 in Dolgellau
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ty Seren Meyrick Street, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Seren (meaning Star House) is a former woolen mill built AD.1800 and located in the centre of the lovely market town of Dolgellau, Snowdonia. If you like peace and tranquility in an affordable family-run Bed & Breakfast then this is the place for you. The accommodation comprises 3 en-suite rooms on the first floor with tea trays and televisions; a family room sleeping up to four, a double room and a single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Seren Bed And Breakfast Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing