We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Beat”
Review of Bikers Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolgellau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bikers Retreat
Ranked #16 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Even in the winter its a great please to visit. maybe not on your Motorcycle but the local walks are fantastic. and the warm welcome on your return and the really super home cooked food and well stocked bar full of local welsh beer is a delight.
Thanks to the mild winter I even managed a round of golf at the local golf course. Nigel is just as happy to point out where the good walks are as well as the fantastic biking roads.
Dolgellau is a nice town and a short walk along the river from the bikers and is well worth while.
Our room was a double in the house (not the annexe) tea and coffee and TV, very clean and tidy, the best thing is the view of the mountain from your bedroom window,even had snow on the top. we were a little concerned our room was above the bar but no need as although busy we never heard a thing.
Will defiantly go back add would recommend going late October onwards as the winter scenery is spectacular

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solobikeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

I`ve been visiting Bikers Retreat now for around 5 years. Its one of those places you go where you just don`t want to leave. The hotel itself is beautiful and the atmosphere so relaxed and informal it feels like you`re own home. Nigel and Tivvy do everything they can to welcome you and make you feel part of the family...nothing is too much trouble. The food is superb and I always leave a few pounds heavier than when I arrived.

The surrounding area is a haven for bikers, cyclists and walkers alike. This is a superb place for motorbike enthusiasts but if you fancy a walking / hill walking/ cycling or just relaxing holiday then this place wont disappoint

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We've been going to Bikers for about 10 years now ( and several visits a year) and would highly recommend it to anyone. Its run by Tiv and Nigel and they can't do enough for you. Its specifically set up for weekend breaks for bikers (mountain bikes and motorbikes) but they attract business trade during the week also. It really is home from home and the secret is in the name - it is a retreat and such a fantastic place to get away from it all. Both Tiv and Nigel are experienced and advanced trained bikers and run guided tours around the fantastic Welsh roads. It's well set up and secure, food is great and companionship excellent. Its also great for larger groups (they host functions for IAM and other biking groups).

Room Tip: The accomodation consists of double rooms in the house with ensuites and a newer annexe with about 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a stay at Bikers Retreat in late August - and found the name of the hotel to be a perfect description of what was delivered.
We visited along with a group of 16 friends, and pretty much took the place over.
Nigel & Tiv were great hosts and were keen (and successful!) to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing.
The food was good and the room, although 'compact', was clean and comfortable; which was all we needed because we were only in it to sleep!
Would I go again? Yes indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GulliverWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Nigel and Tiv are very good hosts (Nigel especially in the bar) The weekend package was great the 'Tour of Wales' which Nigel led and Tiv swept was fantastic the most awesome roads I have ever riden and every one can ride at there own pace no pressure JUST FUN with good well timed breaks. The accommodation is good, the food absolutley fantastic, undercover parking for your bike, a well stocked bar, fantastic hosts and all at reasonble prices. We will definetly return!!!!
Nigel and Karen

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nigelbarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed at the Bikers Retreat for two nights in August. We travelled up from the Isle of Wight so a long journey! The accomodation was satisfactory, if a bit dated and expensive. The rooms were quite small and dark and in need of a bit of a refurb. Nigel however was very friendly and made us feel very welcome and gave us some good local knowledge, about pubs and rides out. We enjoyed our stay in wales but would probably not stay there again. The brekky was a bit stingy, only one sausage and you need to feel full before a full days riding.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helsandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B, Owner at Bikers Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Sorry that these guys didn't like the room. It's about average size but next door's trees needed cutting back at the time, so granted the light was restricted. We've now addressed this problem. However, nobody ever should feel that the breakfast is stingy. We have no restrictions on how much people want for brekkie, and if anyone wants more sausages or anything, they only have to ask. We aim to provide everything that is reasonably possible at our place, for mountain bikers, motorcyclists, walkers, and we provide all sorts of extras for no additional charge - like laundry service, help with vehicle and equipment repairs, advice on routes, breakdown recovery, local taxi service. We are always on hand for queries and help and to provide individual and personal hospitality to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

I recently stayed at Bikers Retreat with my brother-in-law John and hosted by the very capable Nigel and Tiv. We came in from Derby so just over 3 hours of travelling time on a day that threw all kinds of weather at us. Torrential downpours with flooded roads to some dry tarmac and bright sunshine.

We arrived to a warm welcome from Nigel and Tiv in need of drink and food and found them very accomodating. We parked in a secure bike garage only to find John's Fireblade needed a new rear tire having picked up a nail somewhere near Welshpool.

Nigel laid out a clear plan to get us into Aberyswyth on Saturday morning, get John's tyre changed and then on with some serious riding. The roads in this area are fantastic, even in the wet conditions we experienced. Nigel and Tiv are very experienced riders, know these roads well and offered the best they could given the weather conditions.

Bikers Retreat accomodation and food was fabulous. Good range of anything for breakfast, recommend the full English using only the best sourced local produce. Turns out even the Chef and staff are all Bikers too. Dinners, 3 courses, great portions, well stocked bar and able to review the days ride outs, as Nigel's GSX-R is equipped with a rear facing camera recording all the footage, over a beer or three!

Rooms very comfortable, warm, a dry room to dry out your leathers/cordura's, boots/gloves, etc. Our room had on-suite bathroom, both shower and bath, coffee/tea facilities/ TV, etc. I managed to scratch my clear visor but Nigel even came up with a solution for that using a polishing compound to get it back into a good state. Nothing is too much trouble for this team! This is a mecca for riders of all types - hyper-sports, sports, sport tourer, tourer, off road, etc and even mountain bike riders - the business caters for both types equally although I think this business was set up by bikers for bikers!

We're going back in September, we reckon we deserve to do the same trip again but with the sunshine this time. So if you are looking to be looked after properly, fed well, great location, great advice, help, etc you CANNOT go wrong here. By the way I work in the IT industry, I travel a lot around the world and I am a really fussy git. I really enjoyed it here - so will you! ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llanelltyd
243 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
3.5 mi away
Heulwen Guest House
Heulwen Guest House
#1 of 1 in Llanfachreth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bikers Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bikers Retreat

Address: Barmouth Road, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: £35 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Granite house with modern annexe, catering for up ro 18 people. Spectacular views over the Mawddach Estuary and up to Cadair Idris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bikers Retreat Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing