We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Bryn Mair House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bryn Mair House
Ranked #13 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We spent 4 night at Bryn Mair and can honestly say this is the best B&B experience we have ever had. The hosts’ hospitality, from the moment we were welcomed on arrival to our departure, was fantastic!
Everything about our stay was equally good… the accommodation and breakfast... all superb!

The bed was extremely comfortable.The room / bathroom were spotless and decorated tastefully plus you have all the finer touches that you get with a 5* hotel. They provide a guest fridge, with water and milk, magazines, books, maps, and really lovely guest sitting room.


It is peacefully located, but within 5 minutes walk of the centre of Dolgellau and all the restaurants. The location is ideal for a walking holiday as you can drive to the base of Cadir Idris within 10 minutes.

Jan and Peter have a place where one really feels at home... nothing is too much trouble. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.
Martin & Kim.

Room Tip: We were in room 2, but I think all rooms will have been equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
105
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed for one night and wished it was longer. All the reviews are spot on. This is a lovely place to stay from the tea and Welsh cake welcome, the cozy room with lovely toiletries to the breakfast that kept us going all day.

Room Tip: There are only three so I think any of them would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Just back from two nights in this lovely B and B. Hosts, Jan and Peter were very welcoming and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The room was spotless and very comforable. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Drive up to the house is a little narrow but you soon get used to it. All in all a very relaxing couple of days in a beautiful setting. Will return again.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are similar but some have slightly better views than others. We stayed in room 2 and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Really good bed and breakfast to stay in. Hosts very welcoming. Tea and welsh teacakes as a treat on arrival. Beautiful period house within short walking distance of town centre. Spotlessly clean. Lovely breakfast. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Bryn Mair House is a wonderful place to stay.
The hosts, Jan & Peter, were incredibly friendly, rustling up a superb breakfast, and helping us with good walking routes for the day ahead.
They really go the extra mile, with a DVD selection, iPod docks in the rooms, and a lovely guest sitting room to put one's feet up with the newspapers.
The rooms are wonderful, with crisp sheets and luxurious pillows.
And the location has all you could want from Snowdonia: blissful walks nearby (we walked to Barmouth, taking a detour over some stunning hills), a charming town with some good restaurants, and lovely views.

Room Tip: One tip: two rooms have bathrooms, one just has shower room; we took the large room, which is gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

An impressive grey stone house just a short distance from the small town centre of Dolgellau, a convenient base from which to explore Snowdonia. Our hosts Jan and Pete were charming and the tea and Welshcakes upon arrival were most welcome after having driven for most of the day. The house is tastefully decorated and has excellent views over the valley. Our kingsize room (room 1) was perfect as was the small but 'perfectly formed' wet room as it was described. Jan suggested a couple of restaurants in the town for dinner, although as it was a Sunday there was a more limited choice. However, the Y Meirionnydd was great and we enjoyed a very good meal there. We do not usually opt for b & b's in the UK but Bryn Mair is impressive and we were certainly not disappointed in our choice. Breakfast was also excellent with the best scrambled eggs I've eaten anywhere. Would highly recommend a stay here if you want a a good night's sleep in a luxury b & b with excellent service. We are so glad we found you!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

A beautiful house in an excellent location with lovely views. The room was perfect and we were made to feel at home by Jan & Pete, Food excellent and of a quality that no supermarket can offer. Would highly recommend to anyone as long as there is no clash with our returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonGreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#4 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
#5 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Mair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Mair House

Property: Bryn Mair House
Address: Bryn Mair Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Mair House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bryn Mair House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Mair House Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing