We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irresistable so we simply had to come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bryn Mair House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bryn Mair House
Ranked #13 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
dumfries
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irresistable so we simply had to come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Perfect weekend retreat B in our opinion. Jan and Pete are lovely hosts who have thought of everything, rooms are fab, food is great - the best poached eggs ever, and even the ipod player in the bedrooms. The location superb is some of the best mountain biking in the country (and coming from South West Scotland that is saying something). Local pubs and food worth trying too, lovely town to spend relaxation time. We will be back again I am sure!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DumfriesOldbikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
105
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

From the welcome to the send off two days later, we had a perfect stay at Bryn Mair. The house is gorgeous, mixing clean modern colours with beautiful antique furniture. ..beware though, you'll come away with total house envy!!

The village (or maybe town??) of Dolgellau is very picturesque with a number of good restaurants (unfortunately most aren't open on Sunday's or Monday's in winter though). The 9 mile old railway line to Barmouth was great for cycling, very flat and through stunning scenery with a nice pub along the way for much needed refreshment!

Thanks to Jan and Pete for a lovely stay, am sure we'll see you again! :)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexEee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

This B&B is exquisitely and tastefully decorated. Everything is crisp, clean, and perfect. Our bathroom was enormous, modern, and appointed like a 5 star hotel. The hosts are delightful and attentive. It is like being at the Ritz on the inside, but has beautiful "old world" charm on the outside. We absolutely loved it and highly recommend it! We stayed one night on an extended road trip through Wales and England.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocokiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

My wife and I had a 3 day break in Dolgellau in August. The 1st day was spent getting to the top of Cader Idris (the long route!), we spent our 2nd day at the nearby (and incredible!) mountain bike trail centre, and finally had some beach time photographing the seals in Barmouth together with a lovely horse riding session on the beach.

We chose Bryn Mair house for our base for the weekend having read the various coments and reviews online. Having planned a fairly intense 3 days, we knew that we needed a good "home" from which to get the most out of our time there .

Whilst having learned long ago that little or nothing ever lives-up to the hype, this proved to be the exception. Our stay from start to finish was top quality. Bryn Mair house itself is a stunning building, and it has been restored impressively. Our room was a good size, tastefully furnished, and the bed was as impressive as the surroundings! The dining room and lounge (complete with cat!) were both stunning rooms. The owners, Jan and Pete, made sure that we were made to feel welcomed and looked-after from the moment we arrived, and the quality of the home cooked breakfast, taken in the dining room overlooking Dollgellau, made for an ideal start to the day.

A stay at Bryn Mair in the hands of its lovely owners is - without doubt - the perfect place to get away from it all.

Would we recommend Bryn Mair to a friend? Unreservedly - as long as it didn't stop us getting a room there when we return!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#4 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Mair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Mair House

Property: Bryn Mair House
Address: Bryn Mair Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bryn Mair House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bryn Mair House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Mair House Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing