We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Something special”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Lovely hotel situated in quiet area overlooking a lake, open fires and good food add to good atmosphere. Owners are extremely helpful making your stay special. Trout fishing on the lake was the final touch for me, would definately recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupe1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
89
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great location (next to loch and looking up to Cadair Idris).
Warm welcome (couple who run this place and friendly and helpful).
Food good (both breakfast and evening menu - optional).
Relaxed atmosphere.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thomas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at the Gwernan for a couple of nights last week. We were welcomed by Geraint who was approachable and helpful. Our first impressions were good as the bar and restaurant area were very tastefully decorated and inviting. Our room was then wonderful with a huge bathroom! Everything was immaculate and I really can recommend staying here. It is slightly too far out of Dolgellau to walk in of an evening but the bar in the hotel means you don't need to. Lovely to wake up to the view of the lake every morning and locally sourced fabulous ingredients for all the food. Only one extremely small point to note.. Very limited mobile and internet signal, but not a bad thing when you're trying to get away! Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for the first time last week and had a great time. Loved the location, the old and well restored building, the decoration, the attention to detail in every aspect (including the great scent sticks), the food, the roaring fires and even didn't mind France abysmally losing to Wales. Geraint made us feel welcome but personally, I would have liked to have had the opportunity to congratulate his wife. I also wondered why one nice family was turned away for dinner on the Friday night when there were customers already eating. Surely one would welcome the business...otherwise, all was extremely enjoyable and I have already recommended it to a few people.

Room Tip: Maybe get a room with a bath if like me, you are likely to ache after a long walk! The view of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pascale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorseinon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Keeping this simple. Hosts, hotel, location, rooms, breakfast, evening meal, cleanliness all wonderful. Evening meals only served to staying guests is a great idea although locals pop in to the bar area. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nonamesavailable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A cosy place in a stunning location on a lake and at the foot of Cader Idris. In-house food & wine list are quite nice, though not superb. Friendly owners and near several good walks, besides Cader Idris, including the fine, short, Precipice Walk (a 3 k drive) and the King's Forest (a 6 k drive).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Walker_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The location was great, right next to its own lake. Fantastic service. Delicious breakfasts and dinner (only complaint being that the restaurant is closed for dinner on Sundays). Our room was really nice. Easy access to the nearby hills - you can do a full day walking without having to bother with a car. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
5.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
4.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#15 of 34 in Dolgellau
132 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llanelltyd
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Gwernan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Gwernan Hotel

Property: Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Address: Islawrdref, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gwesty Gwernan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing