We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Fantastic" !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Ranked #6 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Chris & Joe Garnett

This B&B is definitely the best we have ever stayed in! Views of Cader Idris, with snow on the top, are truly spectacular. Olwyn is the perfect hostess and serves a wonderful breakfast. You need want for nothing as she is always there to help. She has personal knowledge of all the walks in the area too. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Excellent accommodation and hospitality, with a veritable feast for breakfast.
Truly spectacular location and scenery, with hill or mountain walks starting directly from the farmhouse door.
Superlatives can be used too liberally, but in this instance they are fully warranted.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This farmhouse b&b is in a wonderful location - in the middle of the mountains but only three miles from Dolgellau. The accommodation is first class and the welcome warm an friendly. The breakfast was outstanding and we look forward to going back. Highly recommend. Many awards seem entirely justified.

Room Tip: Only two rooms so can't really go wrong with the room. Room on two floors so if difficulty with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

For the walker, this B&B nestling at the foot of Cadair Idris is a dream. The generously sized rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable.. With a key to come and go as we pleased it is ideally suited to those weather-dependent outdoor activities which can sometimes be cut short! Our hostess, Mrs Evans, was friendly and welcoming, and very helpful with her local knowledge. Breakfast was of excellent quality and very substantial - the perfect start to a day's walking. Just five minutes away, Dolgellau offers a number of suberb eating places at very reasonable prices. We are only sad that we did not have time to explore the town itself. A reason perhaps to revisit this superb B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The B & B is set in the beautiful countryside of southern Snowdonia at the foot of Cader Idris on a working hill farm. The room was spacious and immaculate with views to the mountains and had a balcony to enhance the delights. Mrs Evans could not do enough to ensure our stay of 5 nights was trouble free; she has a wealth of knowledge of the local walks and attractions and an extensive library of maps and guidebooks. The breakfasts will not be beaten by any Michelin star establishment! even the muesli is home made. We cannot recommend Tyddyn Mawr enough although if we do not then maybe there will be a chance of us returning!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This BnB is a fabulous experience. Situated on a lovely farm only 5 mins drive out of Dolgellau with stupendous views of the craggy mountains at its rear, it is in a beautiful Welsh setting. We had the downstairs room which was HUGE with a beautiful bathroom, french doors onto garden and great view. The upstairs room has an even better view from the bed but is a smaller room. The owner is delightful, experienced with 25 years in the business and very helpful. She knew all the walks and had just the recommendations we needed for the walks that would suit us each day. There were a full selection of walking books, maps and guides to borrow as well. Breakfast was delicious and changed each day. The only problem if you'd call it a problem was the huge size of the hot meals, and it is the only place on our trip that didn't offer a choice of hot meal each day although I think the owner would have accommodated anything had we asked! I am a more simple eater than my husband and would have preferred just eggs on toast but hey, if that was my only problem it was a very small one. I highly recommend this BnB, we were very impressed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaPhillipa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We booked to stay at this beautiful and tranquil farm B&B for 5 nights and loved it so much we stayed a 6th night. Olwyn is a warm and friendly hostess, for whom nothing was too much trouble. We chose the downstairs room, which had doors that opened onto a little patio. The room was beautifully decorated, meticulously clean, spacious and with lots of natural light. We saw the upstairs room which has the same stunning view and we may well decide to stay in it next time we go - we would be equally happy in either. The breakfast was a feast in itself, as described by Bart V. We chose to eat early the previous evening so we'd have enough room to enjoy the delicious, fresh, local and often, homemade, produce which varied daily. Olwyn was happy to suggest a variety of places to eat in the evenings and recommend many different walks, which she had done herself and other activities. Lovely little touches e.g.fresh flowers in bedroom and breakfast room/lounge and tea/coffee and homemade biscuits on arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
3.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
160 reviews
5.5 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
251 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse

Address: Cader Road | Islawrdref, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: £95 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing