We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Ranked #6 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Me and my Boyfriend stayed here fo 2 nights to celebrate our two year anniversary.
We arrived to a very warm welcome, pot of tea and cakes! The weather was beautiful and the stunning views from our room were amazing. The B&B was fantastic. Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous- different each morning!! Land lady was very helpful in giving us info about where is good to eat in town, and advising us on walking routes and things we could get up to in the area. Brilliant bike route that we took all the way to Barmouth then back into the small town of Dolgellau with beautiful views all the way! Definitely worth the 5 star rating and definitely worth a stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livi_Gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
105
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Took my fiancé there for a weekend of relaxation, was a stunning area of Wales and the accommodation as excellent. You could not ask for a nicer hostess and the breakfast was wonderful

Only 10 mins to Dolgellau and free parking after 6pm, a lovely old Welsh town with lots of character!

Great for walkers, or just for people who want to escape, but don't want to be too far away from civilisation.

Not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have been travelling throughout the UK for more than 30 years and have rarely experienced this quality in a B&B. The outstanding location and situation combine with the accommodation to delight at first sight, and this grows as the grandeur of overlooking Cader Idris and peaceful atmosphere become apparent. Landlady Olwen's welcome and attentive service is a prelude to five star varied breakfasts that encourage the convenience of foregoing lunch.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger-Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Superb location, in total countryside ; only peace and quiet . very pleasant host , lovely bedroom and bathroom and you mus'nt be on a diet for breakfast ..just great !
Dolgellau , very pleasant market town with ample restaurants of diverse values.

Room Tip: The top room has a lovely view on the fields ; the lower room is larger though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris18_02_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Absolutely beautiful farmhouse set in magical countryside with the mountain looming in the background. Olwen couldn't have been more helpful and made sure we had a hearty breakfast before we set of to climb Cader Idris, using her maps and with her advice ringing in our ears. We felt incredibly well looked after and it was bliss to sit on the patio outside our room, in the evening sun, with a glass of wine and reflect on our achievements in the outdoors. I would recommend everyone should spend some time in this idyllic spot, being cared for by the most magnanimous hostess, as a tonic against the stress of everyday living.

Room Tip: Both rooms share the magical view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 181ChrisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

What a find! And yes, it is reasonably easy to find once you are on the right road out of the town of Dolgellau and realise that it is some 3 miles in distance along a narrow lane. Olwen Evans greets all guests personally with a pot of tea and some lovely Welsh cake. The two rooms in the farmhouse extension are beautifully furnished, warm and cosy with well-appointed bathrooms. But not until you get to Breakfast do you really discover the full hospitality of this farmhouse - I don't think I have ever had a 6-course breakfast before! Suggest don't eat too much the night before! Wow! The perfect set-up for a day in the lovely mountain scenery. Convenient for coast, inland and golden seaside sands at Barmouth. Perfect! Olwen deserves all the Awards her hard work has warranted.

Room Tip: Lovely views from both rooms. Downstairs for anyone with mobility problems, especially when carryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffreyM593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Idyllic location at foot of Cader Idris. Rooms are of a really high standard. Breakfasts to die for and a really friendly welcome from Olwen. Numerous lovely walks from the doorstep so no need to drive miles. Will definitely try and get back there on a regular basis.
Dave & Jane Williams

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyncoed1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse

Property: Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Address: Cader Road | Islawrdref, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing