We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolffanog Fawr(Talyllyn)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckley Arms Hotel(Dinas Mawddwy)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bae Abermaw(Barmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbour Hotel(Barmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
76
39
17
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
39
17
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsmall sofaextremely comfortable bedsrural retreatgreat roomshort drivesteep stairsstayed here for one nightserved quicklyfamily roomlovely nightsingle bedwould stay here againbooked roomsnearby townlovely placeslept really well
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Pretty garden, quaint old house with steep stairs, small room but clean and quiet. Campers were in a field nearby since there are lots of walking trails going out from this spot. Tiny breakfast room but good food. The local town is very pretty. They gave us a reccomendation for dinner there that a relative ran. The restaurant had been a jail several centuries ago and the food was good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolgun1, Owner at Dolgun Uchaf B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very central for most walks in the area. We hope to see you again next time your in the area.
Many Thanks
Eleanor Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed after attending a wedding just further down the road at Dolserau Hall. What a fantastic place!! A lovely cosy B & B with lovely features. The place was immaculate, so very clean. Our Bathroom was very modern and trendy and our bedroom lovely and cosy. Lovely pretty bedding and big fluffy towels!! All the staff we saw were really friendly and chatty and very helpful. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and proper thick cut bacon and proper filter coffee!!
Even though we arrived early we were still able to get into our rooms and one lovely lady even dashed up the stairs to help me with my case I stood on my dress and got stuck. I can't say enough good things about this place, it made our weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 3
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolgun1, Owner at Dolgun Uchaf B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are glad you all aspects of your stay you enjoyed and we hope to see you again.
Many Thanks
Eleanor Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We received a warm welcome and all staff were very friendly. Inside Dolgun Uchaf it is homely and quaint. Wooden beams add to the old fashioned type of B&B it is. All very clean. We were about 5 miles from Dolgellau town and no problem in a taxi being arranged and the meal at a restaurant in Dolgellau - which was recommended - was lovely. We had an early start the following morning but there was no hesitation in offering us something to eat before we went. You are also able to camp on the site and there were a few caravans. A really enjoyable stay and we will be returning for our next business trip.

Room Tip: My room was one of the outside rooms which was spacious and comfortable. My colleague stayed in one of the inside rooms which was similar although she would have preferred my room! There was also a fridge in my room which I was not made aware of so double check beforehand!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCustomer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolgun1, Owner at Dolgun Uchaf B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Many Thanks

Eleanor Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Having seen the pics and booked ahead, we were dismayed to be led to a room in a detached bungalow annex...we managed to move but a warning- be careful to specify an old room in the truly ancient original house where our room (1) was nice, very clean old fashioned (don't mind that, but the broken reading lights were sloppy), , cosy, comfy bed. Breakfast was OK though would have liked fresh fruit.

On the pros- whilst the staff were lovely the owner was grumpy and offhand. There were, as other people say, lots of kids about and strong cooking smells late at night (precooking breakfast?)- surely the kitchen could get a good extract fan? And people need to know that there is a camp site alongside which rather diminishes the otherwise lovely location.

We had a nice time, but would be inclined to say that this was a 3* B&B rather than a 4*.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank GeorgeThePorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolgun1, Manager at Dolgun Uchaf B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you'r stay wasn't what you exspected but we have taken your comment on board and have refurbs all our rooms in the house and in the barn, and now offer fresh fruit at breakfast. We hope you visit again to see the changes made.
Many Thanks
Eleanor Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Spent only one night there but it made an impression.
The room looked great upon arrival even with its low door frames (which are quaint as it is an old building) the bathroom was really posh but attention to detail was lacking.
The floor of the very narrow enclosure of the shower was extremely slippery when wet which I thought was a dangerous. The flow from the shower actually stopped at a few points when covered in bubbles as I guess others were using the water?
These were set backs as we were concerned. What was the biggest no-no, and the reason we wont return was the infernal screaming and giggling of young children which echoed round the house and as it is an old building, doors do not fit snuggly (not a complaint) when they were playing.
We think the kids might have been the owner's and not visitor's, who started up running around at 07:00 so a lie in was out of the question.
The breakfast was more than adequate and was available to visitors who were staying in the outdoor camping facility.
All the furnishings were from M&S so were of a good quality, towels, curtains and so on.
One thing though, a hair dryer is supplied, but when plugged in does not quite reach the area in front of the mirror, which made us chuckle.
Top and bottom, the noise from children ruined it for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stigmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews