We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welsh Weekend”
Review of Dolgun Uchaf B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
Ranked #15 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a lovely quaint place; made a bit busier with the campsite next door, but still quiet and peaceful. Barmouth is a short drive, with some lovely walks around it, and Dollegelau is also a lovely place to waste a morning walking around, with some nice coffee shops nearby.

We stayed in a double room which was well equipped with a lovely shower, big bed, etc, and cottagey features. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdwaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Dolgun Uchaf B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Wonderful ancient farm dwelling with all modern amenities. Our B&B was a pleasant surprise being far more comfortable than we expected. Furnished to a high standard, large clean comfortable beds, our own fully fitted kitchen and wifi. Warm and snug to return to following a two thousand feet climb of nearby Cader Idris mountain range. Tasty cooked breakfast and friendly staff. We would definitely return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My time was for one night only but once everybody had settled in to their beds it was so peaceful
I slept great right through the night the bed was really comfy and the bedding was excellently clean and fresh and to meet the owner who I was worried about getting my bus on the main road I had a short breakfast but that was really nice but wished I could have had a full breakfast I would go there again to stay.

Room Tip: I probably would have taken some ear plugs for a short time until everything cars and people coming...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingman007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booked room only through Late Rooms for a weekend in peak summer season. Friendly reception but parking a bit tight. We were given a room in a self-catering two bed cottage (one of several adjoining the main house). Sharing the sitting room and kitchen with the one other bedroom's occupants is a bonus if you don't want to eat out but could be problematic with inconsiderate occupants. Our room, accessed via a spiral staircase, was small and painted white but with only a Velux window above the bed for ventilation it was a bit claustrophobic, had no external view and when raining, became stifling as the window had to be closed to avoid soggy bedding. A kettle, hot drink sachets, milk portions and biscuits were provided. Plentiful sockets for charging phones and ipads. The ensuite was very compact but upmarket with soft fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries provided. We opted, for an additional fiver each, to take breakfast in the charming but cramped breakfast room in the old, characterful main house. However, breakfast is excellent with juices, cereals, fruit plus full English with a choice of eggs, cooked to order, plentiful fresh cafetiere coffee and toast. Staff are most polite and helpful. The location is outstanding in terms of views and tranquility; handy for Torrents walk, also very close to Dolgellau and a petrol station at the end of the lane. Lots of information available about the area and offers to provide details of any walks we were interested in was a nice touch. A compact, comfortable lounge with large flat screen TV and free wifi was also made available to us. Useful to note that as well as self-catering units, there is a huge field available for camping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The decor is within keeping of the farm cottage look and the rooms are suitable for purpose with some nice original features. The dining room could however do with a bit of sprucing up to keep in with the updated decor of the rooms etc- a new bit of carpet, some new tables and chairs and a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss. There is a small brook running through the small garden at the front of the building and it makes for a nice area to sit with a cup of tea and to read for a while in relative quite. However there were a number of occasions where, I'm assuming the children of the proprietors, were running screaming and shouting through the hallway of the b&b and outside our window so don't expect to be able to nap quietly in the afternoon after a morning of walking! If looking for somewhere to eat I would high recommend the Y Meirionnydd restaurant located a short distance away in Dolgellau itself. There are a number of parking spaces outside as well as some in the town. The food was absolutely delicious and all locally sourced and the hosts were fantastic. They also do b&b if your looking for a more modern place to stay right in town. Overall I would say this b&b was 'ok.' The camping facilities looked good and if I came again I would consider more so camping here rather than staying in the b&b.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historyteacher1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our stay in Arran cottage was brilliant. comfy bed. great shower, loads of room. excellent breakfast. warm and friendly. definately going again.



note: ate at Sospan restruant in Dolgellau as recommended by Eleanore. loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A very pleasant stay and highly recommended B&B for exploring the Snowdon area. We were unexpectedly delayed and our late arrival did not phase the owners. Rooms and facilities were good and most welcome after our long journey. Breakfast had all the necessary including full cooked spread very nice.

As a suggestion there should be better mention of the self catering extended facilities beyond the standard B&B. Though we didnt have need this stay, others will find this a real bonus for their stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JThom490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
3.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
3.8 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
24.5 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolgun Uchaf B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolgun Uchaf B & B

Address: Dolgun Uchaf Dolgun Uchaf, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: £61 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolgun Uchaf B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dolgun Uchaf B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolgun Uchaf B & B Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing