We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good welsh retreat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolgun Uchaf B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
Ranked #12 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good welsh retreat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Lovely country B & B. The family room had kitchen amenities and sofa bed for extra bed space. Great for children, as being April they spent time with the newborn lambs. Good breakfast, local produce. Some amazing walks and smaller peaks to climb if your children are too young to climb Mount Snowdon. However, the room was quite small and we struggled to find room for walking equipment and boots and as its in the middle of nowhere you cannot walk to a pub to eat, so you may need to bring your own food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    35
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
57
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. It was spotlessly clean, breakfasts were very well presented with an excellent choice. The staff were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly be returning in September

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Stratford
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed only one night here but were really pleased when we were led to a little mini apartment with a kitchenette/lounge area, bedroom and separate bathroom. Location is wonderful and very peaceful. The breakfast was great and the staff friendly (although English a little hard to understand!). Will certainly be back

Room Tip: Try & get the upstairs mini apartment on the far side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenStonyStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a lovely quaint place; made a bit busier with the campsite next door, but still quiet and peaceful. Barmouth is a short drive, with some lovely walks around it, and Dollegelau is also a lovely place to waste a morning walking around, with some nice coffee shops nearby.

We stayed in a double room which was well equipped with a lovely shower, big bed, etc, and cottagey features. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdwaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Wonderful ancient farm dwelling with all modern amenities. Our B&B was a pleasant surprise being far more comfortable than we expected. Furnished to a high standard, large clean comfortable beds, our own fully fitted kitchen and wifi. Warm and snug to return to following a two thousand feet climb of nearby Cader Idris mountain range. Tasty cooked breakfast and friendly staff. We would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My time was for one night only but once everybody had settled in to their beds it was so peaceful
I slept great right through the night the bed was really comfy and the bedding was excellently clean and fresh and to meet the owner who I was worried about getting my bus on the main road I had a short breakfast but that was really nice but wished I could have had a full breakfast I would go there again to stay.

Room Tip: I probably would have taken some ear plugs for a short time until everything cars and people coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingman007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booked room only through Late Rooms for a weekend in peak summer season. Friendly reception but parking a bit tight. We were given a room in a self-catering two bed cottage (one of several adjoining the main house). Sharing the sitting room and kitchen with the one other bedroom's occupants is a bonus if you don't want to eat out but could be problematic with inconsiderate occupants. Our room, accessed via a spiral staircase, was small and painted white but with only a Velux window above the bed for ventilation it was a bit claustrophobic, had no external view and when raining, became stifling as the window had to be closed to avoid soggy bedding. A kettle, hot drink sachets, milk portions and biscuits were provided. Plentiful sockets for charging phones and ipads. The ensuite was very compact but upmarket with soft fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries provided. We opted, for an additional fiver each, to take breakfast in the charming but cramped breakfast room in the old, characterful main house. However, breakfast is excellent with juices, cereals, fruit plus full English with a choice of eggs, cooked to order, plentiful fresh cafetiere coffee and toast. Staff are most polite and helpful. The location is outstanding in terms of views and tranquility; handy for Torrents walk, also very close to Dolgellau and a petrol station at the end of the lane. Lots of information available about the area and offers to provide details of any walks we were interested in was a nice touch. A compact, comfortable lounge with large flat screen TV and free wifi was also made available to us. Useful to note that as well as self-catering units, there is a huge field available for camping.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
3.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolgun Uchaf B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolgun Uchaf B & B

Property: Dolgun Uchaf B & B
Address: Dolgun Uchaf Dolgun Uchaf, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolgun Uchaf B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolgun Uchaf B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolgun Uchaf B & B Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing