We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place and friendly faces”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolgellau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“beautiful place and friendly faces”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I came across this B&B after taking a trip to North Wales and from the second of the door opening, we knew we had stumbled across a wonderful place. The room was spotless with a lovely view of the garden and the mountains in the background. The owners were the friendliest I have come across and welcomed us in with smiles. They gave us information about the local restaurants and offered their garage space for our motorbike.

The next day we were greeted by an array of offerings for breakfast, including a full english, which was cooked beautifully using locally sourced produce. We chatted and shared stories until it was time to go.

Prices to stay here are also fabulous and we will be using this B&B again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo C, Owner at Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
We would like to thank you for your very positive and honest review - much appreciated. Hope to see you again in the future - Mo and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
36
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I received a warm welcome - nothing was too much trouble - even as a picky veggie all my needs were catered for. Despite being very near the centre of town I had a peaceful night's sleep. Perfect location for osprey/wildlife spotting at Dyfi Osprey Project (Nr Machynlleth) and Glaslyn (nr Porthmadog). Mid July is the Sesiwn Fawr music festival in Dolgellau which I was lucky to co-incide with - great fun & no disturbance to accommodation. Mo was full of local knowledge & helpfulness itself. Thank you Mo and Alex. Jo

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo C, Owner at Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
We would like to thank you for your very positive and honest review - much appreciated. Hope to see you again in the future - Mo and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibworth Harcourt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

From the initial conversation with Mo on the telephone, I had an idea that I was on to a winner. The B and B ticked all the boxes for me: great location, parking space, storage for a bike and very flexible breakfast hours. Oh, and the tariff was extremely reasonable, with the price coming down on visits of duration exceeding 2 nights. I arrived extremely early, with the intention of getting an afternoon on the bike and was fortunate enough to meet Alex on arrival although it was only 11 am. Returned later to move in, was greeted by Mo with a freezing glass of juice which was just what the doctor ordered, was very pleased to find I could have a real early brekkie next morning as I wanted to cover a few miles on the bike that day. Subsequently joined Mo and Alex in the garden to dine and enjoyed a glass of vino and great conversation. Felt like a home from home, very seldom do you meet hosts as friendly as this, Alex and I eventually did a tour of the local Ale Houses of which there are a few in Dolgellau. All in all, this ranked as a brilliant trip, in a beautiful setting, with great weather to boot. And a first class breakfast consisting of local produce. Thanks, Mo and Alex, for a wonderful base to enjoy Wales!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymak69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo C, Owner at Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
We would like to thank you for your very positive and honest review - much appreciated. Hope to see you again in the future - Mo and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for 4 nights on a hiking holiday in Snowdonia. Absolutely brilliant service. Mo and Alex were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. Delicious breakfasts, lovely surroundings, and very convenient for all of Dolgellau's amenities.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah8586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo C, Owner at Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
We would like to thank you for your very positive and honest review - much appreciated. Hope to see you again in the future - Mo and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We love this B & B!

Mo and Alex are superb hosts who always look after us well - if we have any questions or needs they always come up trumps. Their knowledge of the local area is superb and their recommendations always come up trumps!

Thank you Mo and Alex!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo C, Owner at Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
We would like to thank you for your very positive and honest review - much appreciated. Hope to see you again in the future - Mo and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Couldn't have asked for a more convenient location. Close to all amenities and yet a quiet location. Mo and Alex are very friendly and more than willing to accommodate all your requirements. Nothing is to much hassle. Their sharing of local knowledge and good hearty breakfast sets you up for a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend Dolronwy B&B. Naomi and Dave

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPT365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo C, Owner at Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
We would like to thank you for your very positive and honest review - much appreciated. Hope to see you again in the future - Mo and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great B & B, owners very helpful. That's all I need to say, but apparently it has to be 200 plus characters, or I can't submit a review! It's a beautiful area, and good location. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo C, Owner at Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
We would like to thank you for your very positive and honest review - much appreciated. Hope to see you again in the future - Mo and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
0.2 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#4 of 34 in Dolgellau
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 34 in Dolgellau
117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dolronwy Lombard Street, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1EH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Cader Idris mountain range in the Snowdonia National Park, Dolronwy is quietly situated in the old part of town, two minutes walk from local restaurants, pubs, and shops. Dolgellau is a well known centre for walking, climbing and mountain biking, as well as game fishing, cycling and golf, making an ideal base for touring the area. Private off road parking to the rear & cycle lock up. TV, tea & coffee making facilities. And start the day with breakfast served in the conservatory overlooking the garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolronwy Bed & Breakfast Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing