We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My holiday break in lovely Snowdonia”
Review of Ty Glas Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolgellau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ty Glas Farm
Ranked #27 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My holiday break in lovely Snowdonia”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

A lovely place to stay the family are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for Gwenan.

I felt like one of the family with all the family (including the dog and cat!) making me feel like it was a home from home.

The lovely Welsh breakfast was superb both in quantity and quality.

The room has a private lounge which was furnished with a very comtable reclining settee and a superb big screen tv.

I will make sure I visit Gwenan and her family again and tell all my friends and family what a wonderful place it is to stay on holiday.

Room Tip: The only reason I have marked Swimming pool and Fitness Centre as Average is because they are not av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExcaliburWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Unfortunately we are unable to give an in depth review of this B & B because, when we turned up on our booked date for 2 nights (booked 6 months in advance), - no-one was at home. Workmen at the adjacent (noisy at the time) tarmac business told us the family had gone off to the Royal Welsh Show- leaving us high and dry! Mrs Evan's mother-in-law, who we were advised to make enquiries of, told us the same. She did telephone them for us and they said they had returned our deposit 2 weeks before and cancelled. Upon our return home we found a note and cheque from them (unsigned) which had been posted 5 days before and actually on the day we started our holiday. Fortunately via Tourist Info.in Dollgellau we found a place which was of a far higher standard and in lovely surroundings with no tarmaccing vehicles rattling and banging about next door.

Room Tip: If not pre-booked go to the nearest Tourist Information Office. They have a list of inspected and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A wonderful BnB with warm and homely guests and some of the best breakfast served in the morning - the place was almost perfect except for the following drawbacks
1. Location - While a wonderful location if you have self driven cars, it does not have any bus/train terminals closeby - so for those not renting a car, the only remaining options to get into town are walking (30-40 mins) or taxis (v expensive)
2. Booking procedure - Not very professional with regards to checking in and checking out means that our 3 night booking request was missed and we were booked only for 2 nights (as per our original request) and shunted out after the 2 days were done. Best to confirm and re-confirm that the booking is for the duration that you want it to be. The owners seemed sorry for the mis-understanding but it was us who bore the unneccesary trouble of shifting (not to mention the expense)
3. Bed size was a bit small but the private television room more than made up for it

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PuneetSaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I suspect that the Welsh for "welcome" is "Gwenan"; she is a wonderfully, warm host. She is also no mean cook and breakfast will linger long in the memory.
The bedroom we stayed in was cosy and a little small but we had the exclusive use of a room with a TV and sofa,
This is a quiet location in Brithdir about 2 miles from Dolgellau and has ample parking.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank knightonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Stayed here for the second time in two years. The 'farm' has three guest rooms and a self contained holiday home on the site. Gwennan and her family really make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble.
Views from the house a truely magnificent and the family own acres of land which they invite you to roam at your leisure.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymruman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.0 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
0.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
#6 of 34 in Dolgellau
141 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
Coed Cae Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llanelltyd
238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Glas Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Glas Farm

Property: Ty Glas Farm
Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2RN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ty Glas Farm Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing