We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bangladeshi Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemon Grass

Lemon Grass
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Bangladeshi Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

As other reviewers have noted, the decor in this place is kind of strange, and there are a couple of other oddities as well (e.g. we had to ask for water three times before we got it), but the quality of the food here demands a five star review. A great value for the money, this little place serves a wide variety of typical Indian dishes along with a selection of Bangladeshi specialties. My wife and I went for dinner after a long hiking day, and got one typical Indian Curry, and one Bangladeshi meal, and it was simply fantastic. Frankly, for this sort of money, it is hard to find Indian food this good even in London. It was so good that we went again the next day for lunch and had another great meal. I highly recommend this place to anyone staying in the region, since it is miles ahead of any other place in town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    69
    28
    16
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The decor is rather dated but the food was good authentic indian.
Difficult to find as tucked away but worth going to. East in as well as take away

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellau, North Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Lemon Grass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We live locally but rarely eat in but often order a Takeaway. The food is always to a high standard especially when the owner Mr Ali cooks himself and when you order he knows exactly who you are and your preferences and often advises on what you would like. We'll worth a visit and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maldwyn Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We visited the restaurant on a Friday evening. The restaurant soon became busy!
There was a good choice of food and it was good value for money. The service was good and friendly. I would definitely use this restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caferacerkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lemon Grass Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Near centre of town. Friendly if a a bit quirky service, Nice range of indian dishes with some unusual ones. Tasty and reasonably priced.
Indian beers on draught.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lemon Grass also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Lemon Grass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing