We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't dissapoint”

The Gatehouse Steakhouse
Ranked #9 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At The Gatehouse Steakhouse we offer a unique and none pretentious Steakhouse Experience, bringing out the very best in Local Welsh Produce. All of our Meats/Poultry and Fish dishes are cooked over our state-of-the-art Chargrill for that fantastic smokey flavour. Set in a Grade 2 listed building in the Beautiful Historic Town of Dolgellau, you can experience a 'big-city restaurant' with an exceptional drinks menu, with over 15 Beers, a Great Wine Selection, Bourbons, Whisky and Cognacs dating back 25 years...and more.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Doesn't dissapoint”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This place just doesn't disspoint. After many impressive visits last year it is great to see the Bistro finally open again. We could only wait a night before visiting! We received the usual warm welcome and the food was as good if not better than ever! Without a doubt the best restraunt in Dolgellau. Do yourself a favour and give the place a chance. You will go back over and over again!

Helpful?
Thank AronJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    60
    17
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Attractive setting, good food”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our 20th visit to the town, but our 2nd to this restaurant. Settings like this are hard to find in this area, it's a gem. Delicious food - and not overly expensive. Service was considerate and we can't wait to return on our next visit to the area. Sadly, that only happens once a year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasparilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

we stayed 2 nights in Dolegallau. We read past reviews about this Bistro so decided to find out for ourselves. After much searching and asking for directions we found it. It is just off to the side to the main car park, but don't be put off by it's location.. It's not all it seems.

I had the lamb rump. Truly delicious and perfectly cooked to my taste. My husband had the mixed grill. Unfortunately the lamb chop and steak were overcooked, however he was not asked how he liked his steak cooked! saying this he still cleared his entire plate.

After a fab 10 mile walk the next day we decided to go back again. Yep! i had the lamb again, husband had the steak special. Steak was perfect! Highly recommend you pay a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelliebuddyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Heights, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“More than good food...”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Located right next to the football park and the biggest car-park in town, this was a great find.
I had crumpets with Welsh rarebit (my first taste) - it was lovely. Family had burgers - all good.
That was the food sorted.
Paul the manager was extremely helpful with Welsh pronunciation and made us feel very welcome. His directions were excellent and discussion about the town and area showed that he had a keen interest in the community.
Much more than good food..., thank you for the hospitality

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustyute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We went to the gatehouse on out first night in Dolegellau. Nice start to our holiday. Warm welcome, followed by quick friendly service. Well cooked and tasty food. Reasonable prices - slightly more expensive than average. Portion size not a problem for us - not quite sure what other reviewers are on about with this point. We had loads!

Would return and definitely recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vhancock82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gatehouse Steakhouse also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Gatehouse Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing