We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

The Gatehouse Steakhouse
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At The Gatehouse Steakhouse we offer a unique and none pretentious Steakhouse Experience, bringing out the very best in Local Welsh Produce. All of our Meats/Poultry and Fish dishes are cooked over our state-of-the-art Chargrill for that fantastic smokey flavour. Set in a Grade 2 listed building in the Beautiful Historic Town of Dolgellau, you can experience a 'big-city restaurant' with an exceptional drinks menu, with over 15 Beers, a Great Wine Selection, Bourbons, Whisky and Cognacs dating back 25 years...and more.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Enjoyed a lovely evening at The Gatehouse, warm, friendly service and great food. Would recommend the Italian steak, my husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was well presented, cooked to our preference and there was no room for dessert!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    60
    17
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for the area”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Food was served quite quickly and tasted good though not a large menu . Starters of good size - prawn twists and deep fried Brie were good out of 5 choices. Steaks looked good but around £20+. Burger feast looks expensive at £14 but comes with chicken wings and ribs - don't have a starter if eating this! Lamp rump and sticky chicken were also tasty mains at £15 and £11.50. Didn't make it to the puds!
One plus is it's easy to find opposite the main town car park in a rather confusing one way system town with little on street parking. One minus is rather distorted piped music which I found a little distracting. I didn't see a children's menu so not sure whether it's really child friendly.

There is a small outside seating area for anyone with a dog but it's not a covered area and is open to the car park. We were lucky to be able to park right outside so it was ok for our dogs in the car.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vorester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice bit of meat”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Basic, clean with good menu. Food prepared well and tasty. Steaks are good quality cuts and tender. Value reasonable. Would recommend. Despite being Saturday night very quiet.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ironman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food and excellent service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very friendly chap serving and could not be more helpful. Great sense of humour. Super menu and excellent food

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent meal after a long day's walking”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We came here having climbed two of the Welsh three peaks so were starving and in need of a comfortable meal with good service. We got exactly that. We turned up fairly late just after 9pm and ended up being the only ones left in the restaurant but the owner didn't mind at all and was attentive throughout the evening. They accommodated lots of dietary requests and ensured we were well fed and watered throughout. The meal was reasonable value (three courses each and plenty of water and wine for £35/head) and all the food was hearty, well cooked and generous portions. We would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gatehouse Steakhouse also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Gatehouse Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing