We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for coffee and a cake”

T H Roberts Coffee Shop
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A fantastic Tea and Coffee House with the best cakes ever. Other reviews of Dolgellau B&B's mention it.
Solihull
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee and a cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Always enjoyable as a coffee and cake stop. Good service and relaxed atmosphere where we can sit with the dogs. Good wifi hotspot which is also a clear attraction with the clientele.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    104
    18
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“lovely place for tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is in an old drapers shop. It has excellent wifi and a huge variety of tea and cake. The strawberry cheesecake was delicious. We ordered welsh rarebit which when it came was great but required a trip to the Spar as they had run out of bread! and therefore something of a delay

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paula1756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were treated to traditional proper tapas not chain-produced this is what we think tapas is to the Brits.

It was the end of the night and Dolgellau was in the middle of a busy festival, we were the last people in before closing and you know what that usually means. :(

However with the exception of a couple sold-out dishes the menu was wide, interesting and unusual. The wine, beer and teas are par excellence. Whilst we waited for the food we were taken in by the atmosphere of the place, it's great.

When to food arrived we were very pleasantly surprised, it was fabulous. If there is a downside it's that you'll probably be too full to have a whole cake slice to yourself after eating the main.

Any time we're in the area we'll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craigkrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Interesting place with lots of character. We were served by Meg who was happy to talk through her cakes. I had lemon drizzle which wasn't the traditional drizzle but was really moist with a lovely tangy lemon curd in the centre to compliment the sweetness of the sponge. My husband had a chicken baguette made for him which was very tasty. Both my cake and his baguette were very large. Lots of locals were eating here which I think speaks for itself.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizzieWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Tea and cake anyone!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Popped in here a couple of weeks ago having had an average but expensive lunch elsewhere and deciding to relocate here for desert!

The reason: Simply the best tea & cake trip you could ever make! We are always spoilt for choice from the constant flow of goodies from that kitchen which never fail to impress, leaving us comfortably stuffed in the most pleasant of surroundings for this kind of treat.

Some friends of ours have their birthday indulgence here - say's it all!

Helpful?
Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed T H Roberts Coffee Shop also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to T H Roberts Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing