We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Coffee and cake”

T H Roberts Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A fantastic Tea and Coffee House with the best cakes ever. Other reviews of Dolgellau B&B's mention it.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and cake”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great coffee, best in the area. I also had the sausage bap and this was good as well. Very friendly and a great buzz when we visited. We also had cake to take out and this was good as well.
If you are looking for a good expresso then this is the place to come.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kombizombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    105
    18
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, UK
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very good coffee house”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We visited this place twice. This cafe is formed from the conversion of the old shop and since the building was listed they have retained many original features. It serves a range of coffee and other refreshments and has the feel of a family-run enterprise. We didn't have cakes but the cheesecake on the table next to us looked fabulous. Some folk seemed to be on wifi and very relaxed.

Parking is a little tricky but there are some 1hr waiting spaces opposite and nearby.

There is just one toilet.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simono1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great coffee, cake, food, atmosphere.. dog welcome; WiFi”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had seen great reviews in the newspaper and on Tripadvisor so today we thought we would drop in to find out the quality of this eatery for ourselves. Meg, you and your friendly staff made us so welcome, gave us great food and a thoroughly enjoyable, restful experience. So refreshing to find dogs are allowed inside, food was freshly cooked to order and everything we had to drink was first rate and nothing too much trouble. We highly recommend this cafe (light meals : the welsh black beef beefburger was one of the best ever tasted) serving wonderful coffee and home made cakes in large portions. Prices were very good and with wifi available, it was like a home from home without the preparation and washing up, and the kind of place a single person could go and feel comfortable. Lots of soft armchairs as well as tables and chairs. This is a real gem of a find and part of me doesnt want to tell anyone about it so that it remains unspoilt...but we owe it to Meg to sing its praises to the utmost! Meg you are a legend in the making. We look forward to a return visit very soon. :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toffeesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee and a cake”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Always enjoyable as a coffee and cake stop. Good service and relaxed atmosphere where we can sit with the dogs. Good wifi hotspot which is also a clear attraction with the clientele.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“lovely place for tea”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is in an old drapers shop. It has excellent wifi and a huge variety of tea and cake. The strawberry cheesecake was delicious. We ordered welsh rarebit which when it came was great but required a trip to the Spar as they had run out of bread! and therefore something of a delay

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paula1756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed T H Roberts Coffee Shop also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to T H Roberts Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing