We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, but confusion with what came with it?”

The Royal Ship Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Restaurant at the Royal Ship Hotel offers a great range of freshly prepared meals using local ingredients wherever possible. Our extensive menu offers something for everyone.
coventry
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, but confusion with what came with it?”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I had an excellent meal at The Royal Ship, but upon enquiring about the missed items on her plate, my wife was informed that they didnt come with her meal.A quick look at the menu and we put the waitress right, Thought she would have known !!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rimlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    142
    68
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Variable quality food, great staff.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed the pub side of the Ship, visiting a few times and we watched the world cup final there. However we ate there on 2 occasions and the standard was variable. On the plus side the battered fish and chips and cheese and vegetable pie were excellent, particularly the former. The vegetable were very well cooked. On the negative side the sea bass one of our party had was very overcooked on both sides and the lasagne was extremely dry, with little tomato in it and appeared to have just melted cheddar on top.

The staff were very friendly and attentive (we probably should have sent the sea bass back but didn't wan't to spoil their night!) and the overall experience was good apart from the problems with a couple of dishes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchdiss2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalShipHotel, Manager at The Royal Ship Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I am so sorry after doing our up most to find you a table when we were already full and had a waiting list serving way past our 9pm cut off, and you pleading for me to give you a table, you felt the food arrived far to quickly and that your seabass was over cooked, I did however not charge you for this meal and gave you a free cheese board, I do feel sorry you still needed to try and give a negative response.
Hope you had a good weekend anyway
Regards
John Welsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The food was very good and very filling. I could not finish the mixed grill I ordered. Staff very friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank barilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Booked one day in advance for a table. Arrived on time to be presented with a shortened menu due to an extractor fan. Left without finishing our drinks because of the experience. Will never visit again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davednut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalShipHotel, General Manager at The Royal Ship Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Dave,
We are sorry you were disappointed with your recent visit. Unfortunately, on the day you visited we were taking part in the annual Sesiwn Fawr festival and were hosting a number of live bands in our courtyard. The extractor fan from our grill expels into the courtyard meaning we were forced to exclude these dishes from our evening menu to avoid causing discomfort to the several hundred people attending the festival. This constitutes only five dishes out of a possible 33 meaning there was still plenty of choice on the menu. When you reserved your table with my colleague you were told that there was a good chance that we would be unable to serve food at all. In the end we decided to go ahead with serving the majority of our menu so we could honour yours and other reservations. We found all those who chose to dine with us were very understanding of the situation and all enjoyed the food. We are sorry you felt you couldn't join us but hope you will appreciate this is a very rare occurrence for us and will consider returning at some point in the future.

John Welsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had not booked and had called in on the spur of the moment. Although we had to wait at the bar and wait at the table quite a while for our order to be taken, once the Lunch arrive it was outstanding. Melt in the mouth Welsh Lamb with roast potatoes, fresh carrots, cauliflower, beans and carrots with a bowl of the most delicious leeks in cheese sauce. We could have had chicken breast or beef instead. The portions were a good size. As good as home cooked lunch. At £8.50 it was a bargain. We well definitely call in again when we are that way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anniedunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Ship Restaurant also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Royal Ship Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing