We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed at Dwy Olwyn with friends whilst we toured Snowdonia visiting steam railways. For this the B&B is in an excellent location, being central to so many.
The host Norma is welcoming and friendly, the rooms are clean and well looked after.
Lovely breakfast, loads of parking and beautiful views across the valley to Cader Idris. We are already booked in for an Autumn break later this year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
8
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The title say's it all really. Have stayed here 3 times and each time in a different room and all were clean and comfortable. Small supermarket nearby quite handy for stocking up your supplies if walking or biking. Mrs Jones very welcoming.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MTB_rider1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I bave been trying to book rooms at this B and B as part of our tour of Wales (we are a theatre company). Initially, Norma was great and replied to my emails saying she had 3 twin rooms available. When I asked if i could book these, I heard nothing despite several emails. I finally rang as I was getting worried with the impending dates, and she very brusquely answered the phone. I called the number on the website of the B and B, but Norma almost "told me off" and said she was at work and couldn't remember if we had booked!! When I said I was trying to find alternative accommodation as I was getting a bit worried, she sounded really sharp and just said "ok then fine" and put the phone down!! Very confused- when she initially answered the phone I thought I must have the wrong number as she sounded as if she didn't expect any calls re B and B and didn't know what I was talking about! Shame because the B and B looks good and very reasonable esp as we have a very tight budget. Oh well :(

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank bethyboobeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The rooms are simple and narrow. The washroom is also simple, only two towels.
This bed and breakfast is good but the price is too expensive for the quality of the rooms.
The welcome and the breakfast are good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowing R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhaven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

A beautiful and quiet B and B set nicely back from town allowing a quiet nights sleep. Very friendly welcome and fantastic packed lunches though I missed out on the breakfast each morning. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at Dwy Olwyn for 3 nights durng Easter 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Norma made us feel most welcome and kickstarted our days with an awesome breakfast. The views from our room were incredible. The B&B is well positioned for a short walk into Dollgellau and a great base for walking, cycling or generally touring the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed at Dwy Olwyn last autumn when walking in the mountains for a few days. Mrs Jones was always most helpful with information on the area, town and mountains and I can definitely recommend the room with private bath! Perfect for a long hot soak after a day on the tops.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank oldenglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
2.8 mi away
Heulwen Guest House
Heulwen Guest House
#1 of 1 in Llanfachreth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ivy House
Ivy House
#14 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#6 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dwy Olwyn Coed-y-Fronallt Estate, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2YG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Dwy Olwyn, a spacious comfortable family run guest house which has been operating for over 20 years, south facing, in an acre of landscaped gardens. In a peaceful location yet only 10 minutes walk from the quaint market town of Dolgellau. Good home cooking - hearty or vegetarian option. Dwy Olwyn is located in Snowdonia, and this is an ideal starting point for touring the whole of North Wales, with its beautiful scenery.There are magnificent views of the Cader Idris mountain range and neighbouring countryside. Dwy Olwyn is within the Snowdonia National Park, convenient for sandy beaches, pony trekking, narrow gauge steam railways, golf, fishing, Centre for Alternative Technology, RSPB sanctuary, and many picturesque walks including the famous Precipice Walk high above the beautiful Mawddach Estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing