We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Dwy Olwyn is a nice airy bungalow set in an elevated positon with wonderful views of Dolgella town and Cadir Idris yet not too far to walk to and from town. the hostess Norma was very friendly and helpful - alhtough utlimately not necessary she even offered to come into town and collect me if required. the breakfasts were wonderfully delicious too. It was very refreshing to stay somewhere which offers guests the choice of a room with a bath or a shower. I had the twin room which was not ensuite but had a private bathroom next door which suited me perfectly.

All in all I would definitely stay here again if I am round that way again. Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you like a bath choose the twin room which is next door to the bathroom - others are ensuite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
8
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burbage, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Once again we returned to Dwy Olwyn, always made to feel welcome and from the front bedroom the views are stunning,Superb breakfast and if we did not have time for breakfast a wonderful pack up was provided.If you are looking for a base to explore you wont find better.Dave

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I keep coming back to this B&B as I find it very convenient and Norma is always helpful and accommodating. Rooms are clean, comfortable and contain all you could wish for for an overnight stay. A short walk to town centre, shops and pub.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTB_rider1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

First time here,ideal location for the mtb trails,great house with just a short walk down to the town centre with plenty shops and pubs.
Rooms were clean and comfortable with en suite bathroom.
Norma was a great host with a nothing is too much trouble attitude,great cooked breakfast served on time every day so we could get away early to enjoy the trails.
Mr jones aiso gave us his secure shed to store our bikes in.A great place to stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: Front room has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz1964_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were in Dolgellau with our son and his fiancee and could not find accommodation until Norma's B and B was recommended to us by a friend of hers when we were having a drink in a pub there. It was a life saver. Norma was marvellous, made us feel welcome right away and the rooms were excellent. Although we were moving on we would definitely go there again as we love North/Central Wales. Lovely family breakfast too. Norma's grand children helping out made a lovely atmosphere. Thank you Norma.

Room Tip: The family accommodation in the annex looks very nice too although we did not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed at Dwy Olwyn with friends whilst we toured Snowdonia visiting steam railways. For this the B&B is in an excellent location, being central to so many.
The host Norma is welcoming and friendly, the rooms are clean and well looked after.
Lovely breakfast, loads of parking and beautiful views across the valley to Cader Idris. We are already booked in for an Autumn break later this year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The title say's it all really. Have stayed here 3 times and each time in a different room and all were clean and comfortable. Small supermarket nearby quite handy for stocking up your supplies if walking or biking. Mrs Jones very welcoming.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MTB_rider1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
3.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ivy House
Ivy House
#14 of 34 in Dolgellau
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#5 of 34 in Dolgellau
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
#6 of 34 in Dolgellau
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#15 of 34 in Dolgellau
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dwy Olwyn Coed-y-Fronallt Estate, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2YG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Dwy Olwyn, a spacious comfortable family run guest house which has been operating for over 20 years, south facing, in an acre of landscaped gardens. In a peaceful location yet only 10 minutes walk from the quaint market town of Dolgellau. Good home cooking - hearty or vegetarian option. Dwy Olwyn is located in Snowdonia, and this is an ideal starting point for touring the whole of North Wales, with its beautiful scenery.There are magnificent views of the Cader Idris mountain range and neighbouring countryside. Dwy Olwyn is within the Snowdonia National Park, convenient for sandy beaches, pony trekking, narrow gauge steam railways, golf, fishing, Centre for Alternative Technology, RSPB sanctuary, and many picturesque walks including the famous Precipice Walk high above the beautiful Mawddach Estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing