We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“50th birthday at maes helmau cottages”
other travellers have booked this property
Ysgubor (The barn).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ysgubor (The barn).
View from garden and BBQ area, lambs can be seen in Spring-time The log store
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Ysgubor (The barn).
View from garden and BBQ area, lambs can be seen in Spring-time
The log store
Cottage 2 Ty Golchi's garden
Bluebells on the drive up to the cottages
Torrent walk, accessible from the cottage
View from cottage towards a hill Moel Caerynwch
Cregennan Lake nearby
Overlooking Barmouth from Cregennan Lake
Cregennan Lake on the foothills of Cader Idris mountain
Cader Idris above the clouds
Aran fawddwy
Diffwys
Games Room
View from Ysgubor Patio.
Ysgubor fireplace.
Ysgubor
Ysgubor.
Ysgubor Patio doors
Ysgubor twin bedroom.
Ysgubor
Ysgubor double beamed bedroom.
Games Room
Y stabal Kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Housekeeping is holding this place back.”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This idyllic cottage transported the six of us to another world. The sheep and horses only added to the scenery. Upon our excited arrival we were disappointed to find no soap or towels. We had to wash the dirty dishes, utensils and microwave before we could use them. When we finally did receive our towels they were scratchy, spotted with bleach, and smelled musty and there were too few of them.
The bathrooms lacked enough storage or shelving and mirrors were scarce.
We are being picky because the cottage has so much potential. We had been traveling for three weeks all over the UK and we had a very good idea of what others offered.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you for your comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay as a whole. Being self-catering I provide hand wash, washing up liquid, dish washer tablets etc but unlike hotels don't supply soap, shampoo etc. I understand that when guests are travelling like you were then this is a little difficult, therefore if guests ask (as they have done on numerous occasions) I'm more than happy to always supply them if needed. Also, all linen is included but towels need to be asked for in advance and there should be an extra charge (which I never do charge people to be honest). On this occasion the other cottages had a supply of towels and the ones washed that day had been out on the washing line rather than the dryer hence not as soft I'm sorry. As far as the dishes etc I can only apologise if that was the case. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and can only think that this was an oversight on this occasion. I hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday. Janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennym672...
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
“50th birthday at maes helmau cottages”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely cottage everything we needed, fantastic outdoor space and views. Great chill out and will definitely be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay Nd hopefully see you again. Thank you, janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cupcakecr...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love staying here”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our second visit ( hopefully many more to come) 4 night stay this time.
I just love everything about the cottages and the location.
Stayed in Ty Golchi a beautiful stone cottage..so lovely with all the home comforts you need.Very cosy at night with the log burner and fairy lights. Watching woodpeckers feed right outside of the window at breakfast. The owners are so welcoming and there's milk in the fridge tea coffee and Welsh cakes ready for when you arrive. Horses in the field which the children love to feed..sheep cows and calves..childrens swings..its perfect. A great location within easy reach of Barmouth ( fabulous for crabbing in the harbour and a beautiful beach).
Pet friendly accommodation
It's just perfect

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
So happy that you've enjoyed your stay again, so lovely that you appreciate our surroundings. It's been a pleasure having you to stay again and hopefully see you again soon, thanks again, janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab place but very tired cottage.”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was just the break we wanted. Peaceful and cosy. The cottage was lovely but really needs some work, it is a little tired. The owners are lovely, the area is perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. The cottage has had an upgrade since your stay in February, re-painting, new kitchen doors fridge and bathroom units. We are constantly improving and appreciate comments from our guests on where they think we can improve so thank you. Best wishes Janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penparcau...
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ideal and idyllic ”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here just for the one night unfortunately. Stable cottage very well equipped, with everything you need. Wifi. Dog friendly. Pint of milk in the fridge. Wonderful hostess in Janet, who live next door. Nothing too much bother. Super Welsh breakfast brought around by her and her daughter. Great base for southern snowdonia. Nice bar/grill half mile up the road at cross foxes. If you get the chance, take a walk down the Torrent walk. It is beautiful. It is steep in places, but well worth the effort. Must go back later in the year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review of our cottage. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back sometime hopefully. Jaet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evangelos...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy and welcoming cottage with an amazing view.”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed for 2 nights at the 2 bedroom cottage, and what an experience it was. The cottage was lovely. Absolute warm and cosy feel, with a nice homely touch. Place was very well kept and clean, beds were comfortable. Most important feature was the location. The land was beautiful, green endless grass with hills and tree lines. Sunset and sunrise was equally breathtaking ! Janet was really warm and welcoming, and very helpful to us.

Thank you so much for a wonderful experience and stay Janet !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we are lucky to live in such a wonderful place and lovely that others appreciate this too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welshbl0k...
Buckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Cannot fault this place.

Welcoming owners who were happy to speak to a group of welsh learners in cymraeg.

Clean, comfortable cottage with well equipped kitchen, lovely log burning stove and easy access to Eryri and Gwynedd.

Stunning views. Lovely location. It doesn't get much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review and so glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us. Was lovely to speak Welsh to you all. Diolch yn fawr iawn a braf cyfarfod chi gyd. Janet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing