We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We think this is an amazing mountain - but we are biased as we live on the slopes!”
Review of Cader Idris

Cader Idris
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Talyllyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“We think this is an amazing mountain - but we are biased as we live on the slopes!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Since we came to Talyllyn to run a five star bed and breakfast on the slopes of Cadair Idris we have done our best to walk up it as often as we can - and in all sorts of weathers and seasons. Three times on Christmas Day! We think it is very special place and have been even more fortunate to photograph and film it from above thanks to trips in a friend's helicopter. We post some of the images from our aerial adventures!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Snowdoniatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    40
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic views.”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Fantastic views you can walk or drive up and over the lake area and see the fantastic view. Stay locally and spend time travelling the Mawddach trail and the other wondefull walk and cycle trails.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best Welsh mountains”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I have climbed Cadair many times over recent years by varying routes and never tire of the mountain. Choose your route depending on time and fitness - the Minfordd Path is my favourite but it is probably the hardest way up. The Pony Path is 'easy' and one can be up and down in just over 3 hours but, like all mountains, care is needed - particularly in bad weather. Try going up the Pony Path and walking the ridge, descending into Dolgellau (needs a car or taxi back to start).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank welshhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Really good walk. Lovely views all the way to the top. Just watch our for some slippy stones on the way.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rakhee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good climb”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

A good climb to an underestimated mountain in Snowdonia. be prepared as the conditions can change at the drop of a hat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cader Idris also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Cader Idris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing