We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had a great stay Janet & Martin were very welcoming & made us feel at home,they have a beautiful house & lovely big garden.We stayed in room 5 couldn't fault it everything was perfect.
Breakfast was very good with lots to choose from.
Had evening meals both nights & food was excellent Martin knows how to cook & presentation was superb worth every penny.Only stayed two nights but wish we had booked in for longer.
Try it you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Think all the rooms are lovely enjoy your stay😊
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunstonMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
What a lovely review - we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
200
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked this place as a surprise birthday present for my wife. This looked a great place on various websites and they were certainly correct!! Arriving to a warm welcome by Janet & Martin the house was idyllic. We were shown to our room which was large, well furnished and a fantastic modern bathroom. We had afternoon tea in the garden by the waterfall. The evening meals we had were out of this world and not what you would expect from a B&B (it was such a shame that the restaurant was closed on a Sunday and we had to source other facilities)! The choice of food on the breakfast menu was wide and again served and cooked to perfection. Although we didn't need to ask for anything it appeared that nothing would have been too much trouble. A lovely place, lovely food, lovely owners! See you soon I'm sure!! Worth every penny!

Room Tip: We stayed in Honeysuckle which was excellent! The pics on the website are spot on so if you like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandSHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you both for a fabulous review, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Well what a lovely place to stay and enjoy the lovely surroundings. We were pushed for dates but luckily managed to get booked in for a couple of evenings. The accommodation is first class and very clean and comfortable. The weather was extremely hot and so we spent one of the afternoons in the glorious gardens that offered comfortable seating and plenty of shade. I will certainly be going back as soon as I can. Excellent all round and thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrbr126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting up again. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just back from a weekend at Afon Rhaiadr and have to commend this lovely B&B. Very tastefully refurbished last year it's very clean & comfortable. We had a very warm welcome from the owners, Jan & Martin and their staff. Great attention to detail everywhere you look. What really made it for us was the quality of the food! Martin is a genuinely gourmet chef and it shows. We rarely have evening meals in B&B's but we arrived later than planned and were tired & hungry so went with it. So glad we did as it was excellent. So much so, we did the same for our second night. Superb !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you both for a lovely review and taking the trouble to write one. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again in the near future. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our daughter gave us a two day break for an xmas present, so we chose the Afon Rhaidr Country House. What a beautiful place it is. Our Hosts Jan and Martin made us feel very welcome, our room was 5 star rating, our bathroom was 5 star rating, our food was 5 star rating and our hosts were 6 star rating. I recommend the Afon Rhaidr anytime of the year to anyone who likes being really looked after and what a stunning part of our country

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighton s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you both for a lovely review and taking the trouble to write one. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again in the near future. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

A little difficult to find initially as we forgot our satnav(!) but got there eventually and it was beautiful, in a lovely setting and I can't fault the room (complete with jacuzzi bath). The breakfasts were gorgeous and the owners very nice. We heard an owl just outside the window, in the woods and I've never seen the stars so bright anywhere else! Would recommend for visiting the Snowdonia area, makes a perfect base for this part of Wales. A couple of shops/restaurants/pubs in Dolgellau and around, but be aware that in low season lots of places are closed mid-week. Worth checking before you leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. As soon as we have finished all we want to do for this year in the garden, we will be offering evening meals more days of the week, so no problem for the Winter months with candle-lit dining and cosy log fires.
Hope to see you then with a warm welcome. Martin & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Just had to write something as soon as I got back home.. Although I feel like keeping this place all to myself! Just spent two days in room 3 which has a bathroom over the hallway. Thought this may have been an issue but it wasn't. We were provided with dressing gowns and our own key so our belongings were perfectly safe.
The whole house has been refurbished to a wonderfully high standard. It is more like a classic hotel than a B&B. Tastefully decorated, helpful friendly staff and all in the wonderful setting of the Snowdonia National park. The wood and garden form a perfect setting for the beautiful house.
I wish Jan and Martin well... All with the bonus of a Gluten free breakfast

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you are able to visit Snowdonia again. Best wishes from Martin & Jan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
5.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
3.4 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Property: Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glanrafon A494, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Boutique 5* Gold Award Country House in 3 acres with garden, woodland&waterfalls.Stylish décor, luxury bathrooms, luxury bedding, towels robes etc.Set in stunning scenery of Snowdonia near mountains and coast.Walkers paradise. Cyclists & Adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Rhaiadr Bed And Breakfast Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing