We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buckley Arms Hotel(Dinas Mawddwy)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
275
29
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
275
29
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfoxglove roomon arrivalspa bathwaterfall showerwarm welcomeblind bendcountry houselovely victorian housemalva puddingunderfloor heatingnight staynearest townevening mealpulled porkchristmas presenthuge bedother guests
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent two nights recently at this B&B with a gift voucher for my wife's birthday.We could not have chosen better.On arrival Jan showed us around our room and the house and then served us tea and hot mince pies in the lounge.That set the tone for a super stay.The room was well furnished and spotlessly clean,soft furnishings were of a high standard and added a bit luxury.
Breakfast was beautifully presented,tasty and satisfying.

We had booked for meal on our second night ,and wow we're we surprised.Martin is a gourmet chef and did not disappoint,it was truly superb.We provided our own wine and corkage at £5 was very reasonable.

All in all a first rate B&B which we can wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrackleySid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments - we look forward to your return in the Summer months.
best wishes. Jan & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I had a two night break. A warm welcome, a very clean and fresh room ( Rose )
and a luxurious bathroom. Breakfasts are excellent and freshly cooked as desired. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. Would return in the summer to explore the area more fully. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to seeing you again in the Summer. Best wishes Jan & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to N.Wales.
We had a very warm welcome from Jan and Martin on the first night and a lovely dinner was waiting upon our arrival. The food was excellent (cooked by the host himself) and even a top quality restaurant would be pleased to serve it. Menu is a bit limited but it's understandable considering that cottage only serves 5 rooms when fully booked, and I'm sure Jan and Martin would make sure that even the fussiest guest gets feed. The cottage is lovely and decorated with fine taste for antic furniture. Dining room has a great real fireplace which adds to the atmosphere and Jan made sure for relaxing music to play in the back ground - it's hard to find more romantic setting for couples to have a short break in Snowdonia. We stayed in room 4 with a very modern and clean en-suite. The bed was big and very comfy almost like home. Breakfast was exceptional with great choice of continental or cooked food and all very tasty. We didn't have much time to admire the gardens as we were out early doors and back late at night and the sunlight hours aren't great in October. Overall I would definitely recommend this place and I will go back on my next trip to N.Wales.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cezar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you both for your lovely review, much appreciated. Thank you for your appreciation of the time and attention to detail given to providing a 'set menu' meal rather than trying to offer a choice menu and not being able to give the attention than Martin likes to devote to each course and the selection of vegetables all individually prepared and with their own delicious flavours.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes Jan & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently and we could not have wished for a warmer welcome. We were served tea in the conservatory on our arrival and were made to feel very much at home. We upgraded to the "Foxglove" room, which has a beautiful spa bath that you can lay in whilst looking out of the window at the beautiful secluded gardens. The room also boasts a view over a waterfall. Everything was very well presented, exceptionally clean and neat. Breakfast was amazing, especially the haddock. This is a perfect location for Snowdonia and everything is a reasonable driving distance. Jan and Martin are the most perfect hosts and we can't thank them enough for our stay. Our only issue is that we were there Sunday and Monday and did not get the chance to enjoy the evening dining experience that we have kept reading about. We intend to go back and sample Martin's fabulous menu and superb hospitality again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but the Foxglove is well worth the extra.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caposada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

What a lovely review, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back when the restaurant is open (Wednesday - Saturday at the moment - but we hope to increase the days we are open from next Spring, when our son comes on-board to help his dad in the kitchen. In the meantime we will forward all our past guests with details of our Festive Snowdon Break (limited dates during December) and Winter Wonderland break November, January & February at special rates and special returning guest gift - The restaurant will be open during each night of the Festive Break in December and Wednesday - Saturday during the Winter Wonderland Break. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Jan & Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Bought a two night stay through Amazon. Stayed in the lilac room (room 5) and enjoyed a very comfortable and luxurious stay. The room and en suite were presented to a very high standard. Dined in on the first night and the food was exceptional. We certainly were not expecting such a fine dining experience! Breakfast was also very good, particularly the local sausages. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polo245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and your appreciation of Martins cuisine. We hope you will return and take advantage of our next offers. Best wishes Jan & Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews