We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delightful setting, splendid room, good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful setting, splendid room, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our one-night stay here, and would certainly stay again! The room was huge and extremely comfortable (though we did ask for the upgrade) the bathroom was luxurious too. We opted to dine at the restaurant on our night there, and although there were no choices (luckily it was fish that night as I don't eat red or white meat!) it really was great quality, tastefully done, with lovely ingredients. We met the owner (Janet) though not her husband (who I understand is the chef) but he was probably busy in the kitchen! The only downside (and I see I'm not the only one who has said this) is that part of the deal that we had opted for was for hot chocolate and cake on arrival: this was a rather sorry supermarket affair of a chocolate swiss roll and very watery hot chocolate. Neither of us enjoyed that much I have to say! The other thing was that we were given a complimentary bottle of wine, which we were told we could eat at dinner. The wine had a Co-op label on it, and was only very, very average. The worst part was that we were charged £5 corkage for the privilege of drinking it! I doubt the bottle even cost that, so felt a little let down. But not enough for it to affect the fact that I have given a 5-star review - highly recommended, extremely charming place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for all your lovely comments on the room, setting and food, much appreciated. We put the fish on especially for you as you had advised us (as requested) that you didn't like meat. I'm sorry you were not able to have any of Martin's home made cake - we have been so busy that we sometimes have to buy in. Clare and I have a competition to see who likes our hot chocolate the most - she's winning at the moment as she makes it quite strong. As stated we charge corkage for wine with dinner to cover service and guests are usually pleased that we are able to offer this facility. We hope to see you again in the future and are glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to give us top marks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    24
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
181
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We purchased an Amazon deals voucher that was great value for money. 3-miles outside the town with good walks nearby. Unfortunately it was too wet for us to explore the beauty of the area. We had very comfortable room and a luxurious bathroom across the hall. Everyone was very welcoming and breakfast was delicious. Top quality local products in correct portion size that left me feeling very nourished. Will certainly go back to the area next time we visit old friends who live nearby. Lots to do and very picturesque.

Room Tip: Rose has the bathroom across the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - lwe look forward to meeting you again on your return and will try and sort out some decent weather for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for one night and the experience was just fantastic. The hosts were lovely, the room had a wow factor as soon as you walked in, and the food...well the food was incredible and far beyond the standard that you'd expect from a B+B. The house itself is also in a lovely setting though some way out of Dolgellau so you will need a sat-nav to find it!
Thanks to everyone at Afon Rhaiadr for a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAndHisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.. We did meet you during your stay and I spoke to you at dinner so a bit puzzled about that. Our hot chocolate is served in a pot with hot milk and complimentary home-made cakes or biscuits when available but we have run out sometimes! sorry - we will try and do better next time and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant for the two nights too. The room was lovely (room 2) very spacious and a lovely comfy bed. The bathroom was great - fully tiled, with underfloor heating and a very good spa shower. We had dinner on both nights, which was excellent, as was the breakfast on both mornings. The only slight disappointment was that when we arrived on the Fri afternoon (which, granted, was a bit early - 3pm) we were expecting hot chocolate and chocolate cake - which is what we got........but i was expecting a nice home made cake, but it was just a chocolate mini roll with a jug of hot chocolate. A nice mug of chocolate with cream and marshmallows and home made cake would have been really nice, but maybe just wishful thinking on my behalf!!! The only other small thing, was that the owners never introduced themselves, which i thought was a bit strange for such a small b & b (and surprising, after reading the other reviews). However, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Possibly pay the extra for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpainloverLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear both
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and dinner and that you will recommend us. I am however, puzzled about your comments about the owners as I served your dinner both evenings and introduced myself and chatted with you as I do with all my guests - I'm hoping you thought I was the daughter!!! Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Best wishes Janet & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights after using a gift voucher. We have stayed here before and I have to say it was just as lovely the 2nd time.
We were greeted by Claire who dealt with us and 2 other couples checking in at the same time quickly, friendly and politely and shown to our room. We had paid extra to to upgrade to a superior room as we did last time and again it was fantastic and worth it.
Breakfast was fantastic, best porridge ever, and hubby's full English looked amazing.
Would fully recommend this place if your looking for somewhere comfy, cozy & just pure luxury this is the place

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamb38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you again for your wonderful comments - we look forward to your return again in the future. Janet, Martin & Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

It was great to find Jan and Martin again. We last met them at their hotel Tyn Rhos near Carnarvon and were thrilled to find that they are now the owners of this delightful B and B! They are experienced hoteliers and have lived up to their reputation in Afon Rhaiadr! Lovely real fires in the dining room and lounge,fantastic breakfast,wonderful fine dining in the evening,attentive service make this lovely house a real find.Thankyou for the warm welcome........ We will be back!
Pat and Trevor Owe

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
It was just great to see you again and to know that you remember us from our time at our previous hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us and we enjoyed catching up. Looking forward to the next 'catch up' when you come again. Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had been treated to a weekend at Afon Rhiadar by a friend and, based on the website photos, it was something we really looked forward to.

We arrived about an hour early and easily found the house just off the road from Bala to Dolegllnau. It is surrounded by woods with a stream in a small gorge at the back flowing through the grounds. Because we were early we weren't sure they would be ready for us and we thought we might not get the promised hot chocolate and cake upon arrival. Although we were early, however, the young woman who welcomed us told us the room was ready and that she would light the fire in the lounge and prepare our hot chocolate.

She showed us to the Iris Room, one of the smaller rooms but beautifully furnished and appointed, with a view out over the woods and stream at the back of the house. The double bed was enormously comfortable with high quality Egyptian cotton bed linen that was extremely comfortable. The bathroom had slate tiling on walls and underfoot, a walk-in shower with an overhead rain fitting and also a wall-mounted hand shower. The floor had underfloor heating and there was a heated towel rail and an anti-misting mirror (which worked a great once we remembered to switch it on!). There were plenty of towels, toiletries and a courtesy tray with real china cups, saucers and a tea pot.

After setting in we went downstairs to the lounge where the fire had indeed been lit and found hot chocolate in a silver cafeteria, chocolate chip biscuits and, again, proper china cups. It was lovely to relax and feel welcomed in this way.

We slept well with the sound of the small waterfall in the grounds drifting in to us. Being on the river side of the house we did not get any traffic noise but I suspect this would be minimal on the front of the house anyway as it is set back about seventy metres from the road and the traffic is only that of a country road.

We got up in the morning and enjoyed the excellent bathroom facilities and then went down to breakfast. The breakfast room is beautifully appointed and a coal fire was burning on both days which was absolutely lovely to breakfast with. There was a full buffet of the usual cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juices etc, which we sampled. I then opted for the full Welsh cooked breakfast whilst my partner had the smoked haddock with a poached egg. Both were beautifully cooked and really set us up for the day. There were also lovely little "trees" of preserves and honey and a pot of what looked like homemade marmalade. Plenty of tea and coffee as well. On the second morning my partner opted for the porridge which came in a huge helping and was beautifully cooked.

During out stay we took the opportunity of walking around the grounds of the house which were wet due to the weather but beautifully appointed with several benches and a gaggle of (metal) geese to greet us. I imagine the gardens would be beautiful to sit in in the summer.

All in all this was a beautiful stay in a lovely house which the owners obviously take great pride in. It is what all B&Bs should be but sadly, seldom are.

We plan to return and will be opting for the glorious looking Foxglove room with its spa bah and kingsize bed.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DamianHamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Wow. what a wonderful review we are delighted that you appreciated all our hard work and the little touches that we have added for guests comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
4.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
3.1 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Property: Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glanrafon A494, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Boutique 5* Gold Award Country House in 3 acres with garden, woodland&waterfalls.Stylish décor, luxury bathrooms, luxury bedding, towels robes etc.Set in stunning scenery of Snowdonia near mountains and coast.Walkers paradise. Cyclists & Adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Rhaiadr Bed And Breakfast Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing