We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful break”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Recently stayed here on a 2 night 'deal'. Lovely peaceful setting but handy for everything. Great room, very clean with all facilities you need. Hosts were friendly and nothing too much trouble. Ate here for the 2 nights and food was exceptionally good, restaurant quality, and plenty of choice at breakfast. Look forward to staying again in the future. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenp5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review - much appreciated. Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
204
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malpas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lovely dog friendly Country House Bed and Breakfast.
We stopped just one night, in room 2, which was excellent.
Great shower room, big comfortable bed and well furnished.
Breakfast was good with wide choice, including vegetarian
Just off a main road, there is a little road noise at the front of the house.
Grounds also very nice, which our dog greatly enjoyed.
We will be back !

Room Tip: Room 2 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMalpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, much appreciated and we look forward to your return. Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

On arrival on Saturday afternoon, we where greeted by the lovely Claire,who asked us if we would like to dine in with them that evening,then showed us to our room and explained the spa bath settings,before asking us if we we would like 10 minutes to unpack before we went down for our tea and cake. Some ten minutes later we went to the lounge to find our tea already and a lovely warmed chocolate cup cake which was just enough to keep us going until dinner. Dinner was a set menu of soup, quail and seasonal vegetables followed by a crime brûlée which was expertly cooked by Martin (Owner and Chef). (A vegetarian option was available.). Both days breakfasts where good and well cooked and presented. - Full Welsh for me and Porridge for the lady.
Our bedroom - Foxglove was classed as a Superior and was really well appointed with a Spa Bath, the only downside was if you like to stand in a shower then there was no overhead shower however there was a hand held fitted so you could wash etc whilst sitting in the bath.
The hotel has lovely grounds with a stream running through it ,with a waterfall and you are welcome to walk around at your leisure.
The owners Martin and Janet have done a really great job with this hotel and are very attentive as are the rest of the staff at all times.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 1 Foxglove if you want the spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We very much enjoyed our one-night stay here, and would certainly stay again! The room was huge and extremely comfortable (though we did ask for the upgrade) the bathroom was luxurious too. We opted to dine at the restaurant on our night there, and although there were no choices (luckily it was fish that night as I don't eat red or white meat!) it really was great quality, tastefully done, with lovely ingredients. We met the owner (Janet) though not her husband (who I understand is the chef) but he was probably busy in the kitchen! The only downside (and I see I'm not the only one who has said this) is that part of the deal that we had opted for was for hot chocolate and cake on arrival: this was a rather sorry supermarket affair of a chocolate swiss roll and very watery hot chocolate. Neither of us enjoyed that much I have to say! The other thing was that we were given a complimentary bottle of wine, which we were told we could eat at dinner. The wine had a Co-op label on it, and was only very, very average. The worst part was that we were charged £5 corkage for the privilege of drinking it! I doubt the bottle even cost that, so felt a little let down. But not enough for it to affect the fact that I have given a 5-star review - highly recommended, extremely charming place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for all your lovely comments on the room, setting and food, much appreciated. We put the fish on especially for you as you had advised us (as requested) that you didn't like meat. I'm sorry you were not able to have any of Martin's home made cake - we have been so busy that we sometimes have to buy in. Clare and I have a competition to see who likes our hot chocolate the most - she's winning at the moment as she makes it quite strong. As stated we charge corkage for wine with dinner to cover service and guests are usually pleased that we are able to offer this facility. We hope to see you again in the future and are glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to give us top marks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We purchased an Amazon deals voucher that was great value for money. 3-miles outside the town with good walks nearby. Unfortunately it was too wet for us to explore the beauty of the area. We had very comfortable room and a luxurious bathroom across the hall. Everyone was very welcoming and breakfast was delicious. Top quality local products in correct portion size that left me feeling very nourished. Will certainly go back to the area next time we visit old friends who live nearby. Lots to do and very picturesque.

Room Tip: Rose has the bathroom across the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - lwe look forward to meeting you again on your return and will try and sort out some decent weather for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for one night and the experience was just fantastic. The hosts were lovely, the room had a wow factor as soon as you walked in, and the food...well the food was incredible and far beyond the standard that you'd expect from a B+B. The house itself is also in a lovely setting though some way out of Dolgellau so you will need a sat-nav to find it!
Thanks to everyone at Afon Rhaiadr for a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAndHisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.. We did meet you during your stay and I spoke to you at dinner so a bit puzzled about that. Our hot chocolate is served in a pot with hot milk and complimentary home-made cakes or biscuits when available but we have run out sometimes! sorry - we will try and do better next time and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant for the two nights too. The room was lovely (room 2) very spacious and a lovely comfy bed. The bathroom was great - fully tiled, with underfloor heating and a very good spa shower. We had dinner on both nights, which was excellent, as was the breakfast on both mornings. The only slight disappointment was that when we arrived on the Fri afternoon (which, granted, was a bit early - 3pm) we were expecting hot chocolate and chocolate cake - which is what we got........but i was expecting a nice home made cake, but it was just a chocolate mini roll with a jug of hot chocolate. A nice mug of chocolate with cream and marshmallows and home made cake would have been really nice, but maybe just wishful thinking on my behalf!!! The only other small thing, was that the owners never introduced themselves, which i thought was a bit strange for such a small b & b (and surprising, after reading the other reviews). However, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Possibly pay the extra for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpainloverLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear both
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and dinner and that you will recommend us. I am however, puzzled about your comments about the owners as I served your dinner both evenings and introduced myself and chatted with you as I do with all my guests - I'm hoping you thought I was the daughter!!! Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Best wishes Janet & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
5.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
4.0 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
22.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
725 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Property: Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glanrafon A494, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Boutique 5* Gold Award Country House in 3 acres with garden, woodland&waterfalls.Stylish décor, luxury bathrooms, luxury bedding, towels robes etc.Set in stunning scenery of Snowdonia near mountains and coast.Walkers paradise. Cyclists & Adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Rhaiadr Bed And Breakfast Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing