We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country house hotel experience but more intimate and far better value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Ranked #6 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for two nights for my husband's birthday - chosen at random on internet but looked at reviews first. It was everything I could have hoped for : luxury feel, beautiful furnishings, attentive service and small-scale so very personal experience. I booked surprise candle-lit dinner for my husband Sat night... Sole use of dining room, delicious food and even a cake with candle and a chorus of Happy Birthday! Superb stay! Thank you so much! Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catemogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Superb is how we would describe Plas Gwyn! We've just returned from a 6 night stay at this lovely B&B in Dolgellau Snowdonia and can honestly say its one of the best B&B's we've stayed in (and over the years we've stayed in a few!). We stayed in the Wynne Williams Room (the green one). The room and bathroom were spacious, quiet, comfortable, spotlessly clean, all mod cons and as the rest of the B&B, tastefully and beautifully dressed and decorated. You even have the choice of feather pillows a rarity and real treat in a B&B! Breakfasts in the lovely dining room were delicious and plentiful; we also enjoyed the company of various other guests from around the world! The owners are charming, nothing seems to be too much trouble. They so richly deserve to continue the success of this their first season after so much hard work in creating this exceptional B&B. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

.......this would be the one they did. A truly lovely stay in a beautiful house brimming with style and character. The bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate throughout with soft bed linen and lovely thick towels. Mineral water and milk provided in the fridge in the room and plenty of modern touches such as WiFi and iPod stations. The breakfast was top quality local produce with a good selection of cereals, jams and a full cooked choice too. Our hosts were really helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. great trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieC1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely B & B with very friendly hosts. Shades of traditional Welsh cottage decor with modern features in the bedroom. Bathroom was beautiful and modern even with it's exposed oak beams. House with a lot of history and ideally situated. Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 96Rifles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A wonderful B&B where everything is thought of. Bottles of mineral water and fresh milk in your own fridge, IPod docking station, toiletries in the bathroom, a map of the town with recommended restaurants etc Bedrooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Only problem was that at 6ft tall my fiance was a little too large for the quite small beds. Delicious breakfast too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KipperQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A nice B& B in a quaint Welch town. We were greeted warmly by our host and shown to our twin bedded room on the top of the house. The bed part of the room is small, but the connecting bathroom is large and well equipped. There are some renovations going on in the house. We had a window pane replaced by a piece of wood. Otherwise, the coffee/tea making equipment worked well. We enjoyed the 2 bottles of water in the fridge. The TV worked well. WiFi worked well also. We came down and asked about a place for dinner and were given a sheet with a list of restaurants in town. We took the short walk to the Royal Ship Hotel which offered a 1-, 2-, or 3- course meal plan. We had fresh salmon and cod and shared. The food was quite good.
I've read the reviews on TripAdvisor, the owner wasn't overly friendly, but we didn't find his rude either. It rained the following morning so we didn't see the patio. The repairs must have been made on the banister. We didn't see them.. Breakfast was well-prepared and delicious and the couple from the south of France were interesting breakfast companions.

Room Tip: NOT on the top floor, if possible. It's a long way up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masseyfj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

A super B&B. Attentive owner gave excellent service. Very tastefully decorated rooms (the breakfast room is amazing!) The bedroom contained fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge, good satalite TV and easily available WiFi. The bathroom was fantastic with dressing table and a brilliant shower/bath with unlimited nice shower gels etc. Breakfast was fantastic and the owner served us an hour earlier because we needed to start cycling early. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
24.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
786 reviews
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#4 of 34 in Dolgellau
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage

Address: Cader Road, Plas Gwyn, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: £70 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Gwyn and Plas Gwyn Cottage are two grade 2 listed buildings just off the High Street in Dolgellau, offering excellent quality accommodation be it in the B&B or the Holiday Cottage. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service as well as serving a great breakfast lovingly cooked with local produce only. Dolgellau is located some 20 minutes away from the Barmouth Beach and 25 minutes away from Mount Snowdon. Plas Gwyn is located at the foot of Cader Idris for those who are keen on walking and cycling we are the absolute perfect spot ! We offer free private parking, free Wi-Fi, Mini Bar, Alarmed Bicycle Storage and Bicycle Workshop, Tea & Coffee making facilities. All guests are welcome to explore our Garden. We're looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing