We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Ranked #6 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights which was just not enough. The care that has been taken in the decor and the little "extras" was second to none. Beautiful Georgian building but with all mod cons and a beautiful bathroom. We stayed in the twin room on the top floor. The Full Welsh Breakfast was delicious with locally sourced excellent quality produce. We wanted to go to a local play and it was no problem for our tickets to be ordered for us and be waiting for us when we arrived. Thank you so much. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jklf_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I stayed only one night in the 'Wynne Williams' room. After a very challenging day climbing Cader Idris, this was the luxury I was hoping for. The whole room was beautifully decorated and the four poster bed was a dream. The small touches were lovely, a fridge in the wardrobe with a jug of real milk for the tea and coffee making facilities. I was delighted that the bathroom had a real bath, not just a little en-suite you get in some places, again small touches with a dispenser containing shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. There were very modern conveniences too with free wifi and satalite tv. Breakfast was set up in the dining room overlooking the garden, not lots of little tables but one big table laid out, I felt like the lady of the manor coming down for breakfast! Breakfast itself was freshly made and very well cooked, more or less anything you could want from cereal, toast, jams, fruit, youghurt to a cooked breakfast, even offering a vegetarian sausage, which made it even better for me. The only down side I can mention about our stay in Plas Gwyn is that we did not have enough time to enjoy it enough. I would definitely recommend at least 2 nights to soak up the atmosphere of this beautiful grade 2 listed building, which is decorated and kept to a high standard. The two gentlemen who run the hotel, were very welcoming and friendly, but not in your face as some hoteliers can be. I highly recommend a stay here, a truly beautiful place.

Room Tip: Wynne Williams room, more of a suite really with a four poster bed, lovely
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for one night after having spent 4 nights nearby in a yurt which was magical in itself so thought a night in a b&b might be a bit mundane following this but Plas Gwyn complemented it perfectly. The place itself was an amazing blend between the character of the building but with all the modern day touches to make it a totally relaxing experience from the fresh milk in the silent fridge, the welsh cakes, the beautifully furnished room and the lovely shower (it was tempting to whizz up cader idris all over again just for an excuse to have another one!). Breakfast was delicious and we got the over all impression that nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Location was perfect being just off the dizzying one way system in Dollgellau, quiet but with good eateries being a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is an exceptionally stylish place and run very well by the owners who are very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and we particularly liked the single table in the dining room which encourages conversation between guests over breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Everything! Excellent hospitality, Beautiful Room (King's Room) with attention to detail. The cleanliness was of the highest standard. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. We will definately be staying here again next year!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have just spent two nights away staying in the cottage at Plas Gwyn. The cottage is just lovely, spotlessly clean, cosy, very comfy bed and very well equipped for all your self catering needs! We had such a lovely welcome and loved our stay from start to finish.
We came to walk up Cadir Idris for which its location is ideal, and the cottage is very central in the village close to a variety of places to eat. There is also plenty of parking for the cottage and B and B!
Thank you!!

Room Tip: Cottage is perfect for a couple or a couple with a baby/small child.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrynLlewelynBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here as I had meetings in Wales, and found Plas Gwyn to be the ideal tonic after a day's work - a very comfortable room and great breakfast and a very warm welcome. I can't wait to enjoy their fanatstic hospitality again, this time on my own time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulR8432014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
0.2 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage

Address: Cader Road, Plas Gwyn, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range: £68 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Gwyn and Plas Gwyn Cottage are two grade 2 listed buildings just off the High Street in Dolgellau, offering excellent quality accommodation be it in the B&B or the Holiday Cottage. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service as well as serving a great breakfast lovingly cooked with local produce only. Dolgellau is located some 20 minutes away from the Barmouth Beach and 25 minutes away from Mount Snowdon. Plas Gwyn is located at the foot of Cader Idris for those who are keen on walking and cycling we are the absolute perfect spot ! We offer free private parking, free Wi-Fi, Mini Bar, Alarmed Bicycle Storage and Bicycle Workshop, Tea & Coffee making facilities. All guests are welcome to explore our Garden. We're looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing