We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gilbert rocks!”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking down Flat 3's main room from the living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking down Flat 3's main room from the living area
Looking down Flat 3's main room from the sleeping area What you see straight ahead through Flat 3's tall window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Looking down Flat 3's main room from the living area
Looking down Flat 3's main room from the sleeping area
What you see straight ahead through Flat 3's tall window
View NW from Flat 3's tall window to the Rhinogs' Y Garn mountain
View NE from Flat 3's tall window down across the garden.
View from the bedside through Flat 3's round window.
In through one window and out through the other.
Stripped window frame shows bathroom and kitchen were one room still with cook's bell there
Use of this twin-bedded Loft bedroom increases the number that can comfortably stay in Flat 3
This writing on the back of a door frame tells us when Flat 3 was added
Flat 3, the garden's Scots pines and the hills across the valley.
This plaque of Night commemorated the still birth of a boy and death of the youngest girl
Looking down past the entrance side of the rest of the house from outside Flat 3's round window
The garden side of the house
There is always a quiet sunny spot on the terrace to enjoy a read, a drink, a think, or a meal
Cadair Idris from one of our many documented walks.  Brynygwin is a third of the way up on the left
Brynygwin's stained glass window is lit some nights with family connections explained if wanted
Brynygwin kitchen garden's 100 metre stretch of the River Wnion to fish and to enjoy
The Mawddach estuary from hills across the valley from Brynygwin
Taken from the start of the Mawddach Trail and of the return leg of a 1 mile walk to Dolgellau
Talyllyn, 7 miles away and one of many nearby lakes
Cregennen Lake, also 7 miles away and an inspiration not to be missed
The leafy Black Falls, a favourite of famous poets and one of three in the Coed y Brenin Forest
Another of the three waterfalls in the Coed y Brenin forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
21Julie5
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gilbert rocks!”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I chose this property after reading negative comments about it (and Gilbert) because I was fascinated to meet him. We first asked about flat3 but it wasn't available for the whole time we wanted to stay so Gilbert suggested we stay in The mews which is a cottage attached to flat3.
Let me say firstly what a charming ,helpful man Gilbert is and the grounds, which are for everyone's use are lovely. The electricity has to be paid on top but the rental price is extremely low so balances it out. The properties are old fashioned but surely that's to be expected, it's a beautiful old building. We had a great time and so did our two dogs, no worries about finding somewhere for them to run around.
Gilbert we love you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerraway
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissapointed, Cold and threadbare : (”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
5
people found this review helpful

We booked to stay at Flat 3 Bryn y Gwin in late February 2016, we arrived just as it was getting dark, the drive and the house were in total darkness and there was no indication as to where we should go.
We were led through the cellar up to Flat 3. The building felt cold and smelled damp, Flat 3 was a new extension to the main building, unfortunately this ‘new’ extension was added in 1950, which is where it has remained.
We were given a tour of the flat by Mr Gauntlet, This included special procedures for priming the radiator in the main room as the thermostat was faulty and wrapped in a towel rag with a plastic dish to catch the drips.
The Bathroom was clean and functional, although we had no need for the half used bar of soap or dirty cloth on the side of the bath. There is plenty of hot water, there is an under powered electric shower. The Towels that were supplied were ‘oddment’s thread bare, holed and old.
The kitchen was equipped with an assortment of old cups plates and cutlery all stored in two cupboards form the 1920’s. The oil burner is also in the kitchen and is festooned with instructions. This boiler is not quiet and literally roars through the night clearly inefficient.
The Lounge/sleeping area smelled damp and although initially warm, there is an overwhelming dank atmosphere. The furnishings are also from a bygone era and certainly past their best. The Sofa (bed) was dirty and the arms were torn and had been repaired with tape. The double bed had no redeemable features. The bedding supplied was a brown polyester fitted sheet and a white cotton sheet, Pink woollen blankets and a threadbare candlewick bedspread.
Even with the heating and log fire we were still cold through the night. The round window does not get the morning sunlight as it faces onto a steep wooded hill opposite. The over gown trees and bush obstruct the claimed view of the hills.
In the cold light of day we could see the state of what had obviously been an impressive house in the past. The building is in dire need of repair, it is not an overstatement to say that it looks derelict with windows and doors being boarded up.
We had taken our dog, opted to accept the offer of towels, bed linen and logs for the open On our last morning we were issued with our bill, an intimate breakdown of costs which included charges for Our dog, logs used (which are in abundance in this area), towels and bed linen (£0.60p per pillow slip), electric and oil meter readings.
I raised a number of issues with the owner in relation to our ‘stay’ which included the standard of bedding, towels and general state of the accommodation and the charge of approx’ £13 for the oil used over our 4 night stay. I was advised that although we did not arrive until 5:30pm the heating had been turned on all day, for which we had been charged.
The initial quote for our stay was £148 this rose to over £200 for a 4 night stay with the add ons.
There is cheaper and better accommodation in this area, try the Ship in Dolgellau it is wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Gardens and woodland area offer excellent views
Liked least: Sleepless cold nights.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris Q
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Walks in wet Wales”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We came to Dolgellau for the first time and stayed at Gilbert's and had a great time. Coming from Bath via public transport was slightly challenging, requiring a train and bus to get into the village and then we had a very soggy walk to Brynygwin Isaf after coinciding our trip with some impressive flooding! Gilbert was very welcoming; he showed us around the flat and had said if we had called him he would've been happy to have picked us up from the village. He then showed us a faster route into the village along a footpath that we used many times, the first time that evening to go to the local co-op that is very well stocked. The flat had everything that could be needed, including many handwritten walks that really helped us take advantage of the location.

We would highly recommend a visit, bearing in mind that in the winter, being an old house, it can get cold, but there are many ways to heat the flat (although at a cost). Thanks Gilbert for a fantastic break!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gave us the creeps”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife,daughter and myself booked for two nights,however we felt the atmosphere in flat 3 to be very unsettling, in fact the whole place gave us the creeps. Much of the building was in bad repair and smelt of damp.
Gilbert led us through the gloomy entrance up the stairs to our room, explaining in great detail the workings of the antiquated heating system.
I was looking forward to using the log fire,but this was looked upon as being a complicated issue so I decided it wasn't such a good idea.
We stayed for one night, cycled the Mawddach trail the next day, which was lovely, and made our excuses to leave early, never to return to Brynygwin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Mawddach Trail
Liked least: Flat 3
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sazi1210
Upton, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We arrived on the 2nd March 2015, as we pulled up the driveway we were in absolute shock when we seen the house, it is GORGEOUS to say the least. We were welcomed by Gilbert who is the nicest man you could ever meet, who then proceeded to show us up into the flat. He explained everything to us in such detail and talked us through how to use the boiler and how to how to change the settings on the radiators. After we got settled in my husband and I went into the town which is a very short drive away and ate at the Royal Ship Hotel, the food there was lovely and reasonably priced. When we arrived back at the house Gilbert came and showed us how to set up the open log fire, he went through how to set it up, how to make kindling, and even spoke us through the types of wood we needed to make the fire last longer, it is a skill he has perfected over time and it worked a treat! (Not to forget how amazing it was to sleep with the log fire crackling. .......HEAVEN!) The second night again we went into town for a meal, we ate at a little Welsh bistro (just opposite the Ship Hotel) sorry I don't remember the name of it, but the food was also lovely there and reasonably priced too. (Turned out that was the old jail where they used to have their last supper) which we thought was quite fitting as it was our last night.
The house itself is set in the most amazing grounds, they even have rabbits on the front lawn in the mornings (which unfortunately I didn't get to see but my husband did) The house has so much history to it and has been in Gilbert's family for generations. We can't wait to come back and stay again...... We have decided that from now on its our little holiday place :) ......... Perfect little break away, wish we could've stayed longer. Xx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadi S
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very good guid about the address from the friendly owner helped us to get there easily. Really nice place with lots of character and spectacular view. It worths money and is close to many attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m18gfc
Medway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Lovely accomodation.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the beautifully picturesque Brynygwin for a week and had a fantastic time. Gilbert the owner was incredibly friendly and helpful for the whole of our stay.

The brochures (although some a little out of date) were a great addition to come in to and to plan the week ahead from the moment we arrived. The very carefully planned and well documented walks were also very useful and saved us getting lost while trying to plan our own walks! I think there are around thirty different walks, all around Dolgellau, that Gilbert has laid out for his guests.

Dolgellau is around a 10-15 minute walk away most of which can be done away from the main road ( along the old drive then along the river). A nice town with a few pubs and restaurants although we only ventured in on one night as we were exhausted from all the walking! The stag pub near the bridge was a nice find where we had a quiet drink on our last evening. The hunibuns are well worth a try from the local bakery!

All in all a lovely holiday in a great location, would defiantly stay at Brynygwin again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing