We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!!”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband had business to attend to in Dolgellau, luckily for us this fantastic hotel had one room left.
We stayed in the Meirion room which was gorgeous. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever stayed in and the ensuite bathroom was equipped with everything from White company toiletries to individual beauty kits.
Breakfast was also faultless I had croissants filled with bacon and cheese whilst my husband opted for the full breakfast. There was also plenty of cereals, toast, yoghurts , orange juice and coffee offered too.
My only problem was that we were only staying for one night. Looking out of the back window was the most amazing view of Cadir Idris and I would have liked nothing better than to have a good old wander around the local area. I was also dissapointed that the restaurant was closed on the evening we stayed.
The owners Mark and nick were very welcoming and made us feel relaxed as soon as we checked in.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends, if we are ever in the area again I would definatley stay here, I would just make sure that it was when the restaurant was open so we could samPle some of the food that has had such fantastic reviews.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelleaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    50
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
204
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nottingham, england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Booked two nights 7th & 8th March on reading reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Nick & Marc were excellent hosts and the hotel is a credit to them, food wonderful, most locally sourced ingredients and all cooked to perfection by their chef. When next visiting this area of Wales, will definitely book here again, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you so much for the great review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially enjoyed dinner with us, it makes our chef very happy! We look forward to showing off our new restaurant to you the next time you stay with us.
Marc & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We drove into Dolgellau on a road trip not having booked accommodation and were lucky enough to find Y Meirionnydd had received a last minute cancellation and they were able to accommodate us last minute.

It was a wonderful experience from start to finish. The bedroom was spacious and clean with lots of original features. The beams and windows added to a lovely rustic feel. The bed was unbelievably inviting and comfortable with a big soft duvet and cushions. My girlfriend refused to sit on it until she had had a shower! After a long day on the road the steaming hot power shower was heaven sent and i truly believe that high point of the 4 day trip for my grlfriend was the hot bath she had at Y meiriyonydd!

The reataurant was full on the saturday night which is always a good sign and the breakfast the following morning was delicious.

The owners were incredibly helpful, assisting me in parking my car and carrying my bags up to the room. They also provided us with a road map for us to plan the next stage of our journey. As we were on a road-trip we probably should have had one ourselves.

We left the hotel to see a sprinkling of snow over the mountain in front which just added to the experience.

This hotel was the high point of a great week and my only advice would be to book in advance and make this place a destination rather than a pit-stop.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Well, what can we say...thanks to both of you for dropping by, it was really nice to meet you and we're so glad you had a great time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon,
Marc, Nick and all at Y Meirionnydd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed for two nights. The room was newly decorated (a couple of minor fittings remained undone). The room was very comfortable and the service was friendly. Breakfast was excellent. The restaurant was closed the nights we stayed, and the management directed us to excellent alternatives. This is the kind of hotel we like; good quality without swamping you with "amenities".

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickSidmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Excellent service, great food and clean, spacious room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluestone26lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of January, the day before we arrived we received an email informing us that buidling work was taking place and that their restaurant would not be open for the duration of our stay, neither would we be able to have a hot breakfast (something we were looking forward to before our walk up Snowdon!). We were a little disappointed however on arrival the builders had finished up for the weekend so no sign of them (great!) they also upgraded our room to the wonderful Meirion room which we were very pleased with, we dined at a lovely local bistro only seconds away and the breakfast (although not hot) was wonderful! Service was excellent and we would most definitely return here in the future.

Thank you! Katie

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights as I had business in the town. Had my elderly Mum with me and the two guys who own the hotel couldn't have been more helpful. They found us a ground floor room - only three steps down and two up to get to it - which Mum could manage and served our meals, including breakfast, in the lounge rather than down in the cellar restaurant. The place is tastefully decorated and everything looks brand new - very clean and fresh. The cellar restaurant is quite lovely and has just the right atmosphere for intimate dining (I went down for a look-see). Food was excellent - enough choice (at least for two or three nights in a row - might want more variety after that) and good quality, well cooked and nicely presented. Good value for the price - which was average at around £14 for a main. Small but perfectly adequate bar - with good choice of drinks. Very central location - parking at the front is for one hour between 9am and 6pm - so if you arrive at 5 you can park there until 10am next day and be ok. Alternatively there is a car park about four minutes walk away - at the riverside. Our room was lovely - bathroom slightly cold but that would be my only negative and a tiny one at that. I think you would enjoy it.

Room Tip: There is only one room with reasonable access for those with mobility problems and this one is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
3.8 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
24.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
155 reviews
23.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
23.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Meirionnydd

Property: Y Meirionnydd
Address: Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Y Meirionnydd 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a beautiful place to stay with the bonus of its own restaurant and bar in the centre of this beautiful Snowdonia town. Our three bedrooms and two suites are all en suite of course and feature White Company toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, free Wi Fi as well as many other little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Add in superb, personal service, a lovely full breakfast and of course our superb restaurant for dinner and you have the makings of a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Y Meirionnydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Meirionnydd Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
y Meirionnydd Hotel Dolgellau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing