We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation in Dolgellau”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We arrived in Dolgellau at the end of the first day of a motorcycle tour of Wales and the Y Meirionnydd had a room available. The public rooms are tastefully decorated and clean with a bar and dining room. The bedroom was lovely with a very comfortable bed, warm soft duvet and extra touches such as White Company toiletries, nice magazines and a hot water bottle with Aran wool .
Breakfast was very good, with a selection of cooked options and served by a charming French man. I would definitely go back and would book ahead next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtooD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the Y Meironnydd just for 1 night, the room was comfortable and well equipped.
Breakfast was very good, would recommend this B&B Look forward to going back and sampling the restaurant, good to see welsh people working in this B&B a real Welsh Welcome awaits.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night in March and booked the Mawddach Room. The room was as impressive as it was described, and the staff were very friendly. The evening meal was fantastic,We have paid more for meals in other hotels that were not half as good as the food on offer here. A really friendly hotel that we would highly recommend.

The Green's - Liverpool

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carol194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband had business to attend to in Dolgellau, luckily for us this fantastic hotel had one room left.
We stayed in the Meirion room which was gorgeous. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever stayed in and the ensuite bathroom was equipped with everything from White company toiletries to individual beauty kits.
Breakfast was also faultless I had croissants filled with bacon and cheese whilst my husband opted for the full breakfast. There was also plenty of cereals, toast, yoghurts , orange juice and coffee offered too.
My only problem was that we were only staying for one night. Looking out of the back window was the most amazing view of Cadir Idris and I would have liked nothing better than to have a good old wander around the local area. I was also dissapointed that the restaurant was closed on the evening we stayed.
The owners Mark and nick were very welcoming and made us feel relaxed as soon as we checked in.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends, if we are ever in the area again I would definatley stay here, I would just make sure that it was when the restaurant was open so we could samPle some of the food that has had such fantastic reviews.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelleaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Booked two nights 7th & 8th March on reading reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Nick & Marc were excellent hosts and the hotel is a credit to them, food wonderful, most locally sourced ingredients and all cooked to perfection by their chef. When next visiting this area of Wales, will definitely book here again, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you so much for the great review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially enjoyed dinner with us, it makes our chef very happy! We look forward to showing off our new restaurant to you the next time you stay with us.
Marc & Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We drove into Dolgellau on a road trip not having booked accommodation and were lucky enough to find Y Meirionnydd had received a last minute cancellation and they were able to accommodate us last minute.

It was a wonderful experience from start to finish. The bedroom was spacious and clean with lots of original features. The beams and windows added to a lovely rustic feel. The bed was unbelievably inviting and comfortable with a big soft duvet and cushions. My girlfriend refused to sit on it until she had had a shower! After a long day on the road the steaming hot power shower was heaven sent and i truly believe that high point of the 4 day trip for my grlfriend was the hot bath she had at Y meiriyonydd!

The reataurant was full on the saturday night which is always a good sign and the breakfast the following morning was delicious.

The owners were incredibly helpful, assisting me in parking my car and carrying my bags up to the room. They also provided us with a road map for us to plan the next stage of our journey. As we were on a road-trip we probably should have had one ourselves.

We left the hotel to see a sprinkling of snow over the mountain in front which just added to the experience.

This hotel was the high point of a great week and my only advice would be to book in advance and make this place a destination rather than a pit-stop.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Well, what can we say...thanks to both of you for dropping by, it was really nice to meet you and we're so glad you had a great time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon,
Marc, Nick and all at Y Meirionnydd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed for two nights. The room was newly decorated (a couple of minor fittings remained undone). The room was very comfortable and the service was friendly. Breakfast was excellent. The restaurant was closed the nights we stayed, and the management directed us to excellent alternatives. This is the kind of hotel we like; good quality without swamping you with "amenities".

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickSidmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
346 reviews
24.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
801 reviews
16.7 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,540 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
24 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Meirionnydd

Address: Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Price Range: £83 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Y Meirionnydd 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a beautiful place to stay with the bonus of its own restaurant and bar in the centre of this beautiful Snowdonia town. Our three bedrooms and two suites are all en suite of course and feature White Company toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, free Wi Fi as well as many other little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Add in superb, personal service, a lovely full breakfast and of course our superb restaurant for dinner and you have the makings of a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Y Meirionnydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Meirionnydd Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
y Meirionnydd Hotel Dolgellau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing