We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in Snowdonia”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Luxury in Snowdonia”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Y Meirionnydd is a superb B&B in a lovely, old village in Snowdonia. It has the perfect combination of period features and modern luxuries. Our ensuite shower room was unexpectedly modern and one of the best we have ever seen in a B&B. We ate in the cosy restaurant in the basement. The food was excellent. Make sure you book in advance. Breakfast is terrific as well. Parking is limited at the B&B but we found a spot in front of the pub next door. There is also plenty of parking within a few minutes walk. A great base for exploring Snowdonia.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian and Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    49
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
197
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Lovely small hotel with great service. The rooms are well appointed and up to date. Great restaurant and bar, make sure you book dinner ahead of your visit. Breakfast included and good selection. The owners are friendly and helpful. There is a great tourist office in town with lots of maps and advice for local hikes.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomad_london123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Spent four nights at Y Meirionnydd with friends from Kent last week and I can only reiterate what has been said in many previous reviews. This property is up to 4* hotel standards from the point of view of accommodation, attention to detail, service, cleanliness, breakfast and everything else. We chose to eat in each evening as the menu was so good, at a reasonable price, and again, the standard and quality of the locally sourced meat and produce was first class. Service and attention to detail is excellent. There is a good choice of wines, again reasonably priced.

It seems pointless to repeat everything that has been stated before, but certainly if you wish to stay in this part of Wales look no further, you will not find a better place to stay, it is a credit to the entire team ably lead by the owners.

Room Tip: Take your choice, all rooms appear to be at the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is set in the centre of a small and quirky town, minutes drive to Snowdonia national park. Limited parking at the hotel due to central location, but plenty of parking close by.
The building is immaculate in presentation, incredibly clean, light airy and modern with a twist of local hertitage and focus.
The communal areas were again, well laid out, clean and beautifully decorated. We did not have a meal in the hotel in the evening, but the breakfast was incredibly good, using local produce and presented well. The service was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for the team that looked after us.
The bedroom was again, immaculate and large in size, decoration was tasteful and the room was very clean.
I could not fault this hotel, the service or it's team that worked there

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlbaChiara67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Hello to you both, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review, we are so pleased you so obviously enjoyed your stay. Hopefully next time you'll be able to enjoy our restaurant as well as breakfast! Look forward to welcoming you both again,
Marc, Nick and the team at Y Meirionnydd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Only had one night at Y Meirionydd but it was superb. The room, the restaurant, the staff were all top notch. The attention to detail is exceptional, from the toiletries in the rooms to the quality of the ketchup at breakfast, and everything in between. Superb.
The only negative is out of the control of the owners, parking. We were lucky and secured a space directly outside and avoided the meter maid despite exceeding our permitted time. The owners, supported by a superb team, clearly take great pride in the service they offer. Commendable.

Room Tip: Eryri is a lovely room but quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithaSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you Keith & Sian, we are so pleased we helped to make your wedding anniversary special.
We have passed on your comments to all the people who work with us at Y Meirionnydd and hope to see you again very soon.
Marc & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this lovely little B@B after a hard walking day climbing up Mount Snowdon.

On arrival we were made to feel at home. Our room was modern and very comfortable.

The bistro offered fantastic rustic food .

Breakfast was lovely and prepared us for our journey back up to Yorkshire.

Thank you !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeponrunning30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Hello The Runners...thank you for your great review, shame it was only for one night but you got a good taste of Snowdonia and what we do at Y Meirionnydd - thrilled that you enjoyed our restaurant and bar as well, our chefs will be very happy!
Look forward to the next time,
Marc & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

This is the best small country hotel I have ever stayed in, run by a management clever, imaginative and kind. Its style is at once simple and sophisticated, it is properly proud of its Welshness, and in its kind it seems to me very nearly flawless .

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you Jan, such kind words, we were so pleased to read them, it makes all the hard work worthwhile!
Marc & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
20.6 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Meirionnydd

Property: Y Meirionnydd
Address: Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Y Meirionnydd 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a beautiful place to stay with the bonus of its own restaurant and bar in the centre of this beautiful Snowdonia town. Our three bedrooms and two suites are all en suite of course and feature White Company toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, free Wi Fi as well as many other little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Add in superb, personal service, a lovely full breakfast and of course our superb restaurant for dinner and you have the makings of a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Y Meirionnydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Meirionnydd Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
y Meirionnydd Hotel Dolgellau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing