We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Myself and Wife have just enjoyed a relaxing weekend at Y Merionnydd. We were in the Mawddach room, which was spacious and comfortable. We stayed for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast at a cost of £99 a night (Winter Special). The owners and all their staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The restaurant food was excellent, tasty, a real treat.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you John for a great review. We are so glad you spoilt yourselves with our fantastic Winter Escape £99 deal, it's only on for a few weekends and is always very popular, especially as we have our own restaurant and bar to complement our lovely rooms. We look forward to seeing you both again in 2014,
Marc, Nick and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    49
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
190
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 8 and have just returned from a very comfortable stay at Y Meirionnydd. We booked for two nights and ate in their restaurant the first night. The food was very good, excellent shrimp tails and salmon starters followed by
wonderful lamb served with great local veg. Cheese board was excellent served with olive bread and oat crackers. The vegitarian option was limited but was very good indeed. Wine list was extensive and good value. We had a very good Merlot at 17 pounds. Local beers were also very good. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. We would recommend Y Meirionnydd.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Aine, thank you so much for your lovely comments, I think you deserve a round of applause for organising the weekend. It really was a pleasure to have you all staying and dining with us, we're a great place for getting together with friends and family without having to make the beds and wash up...leave all that to us!
We hope to see you all next year, we look forward to it,
Marc, Nick and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Having only just returned from this place I was determined to quickly put into words how fabulous this place really is...Mark and Nick were the perfect hosts and we felt at home the moment we walked in. The service is impeccable and we felt so relaxed and well cared for, a home away from home, we will definitely be returning, if not just for the absolutely delicious food!! Highly recommended, very relaxing atmosphere, gorgeous rooms...cannot fault it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gandham-prescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a very comfortable stay at Y Meirionnydd. We booked for three nights intending to only eat in their restaurant the first night , but it was so good we ate there every night! The restaurant is in the cellar of the building in the old jail, and is cosy and beautifully decorated. The staff were very attentive and the food delicious. They also have an excellent wine list, the house champagne at under £30 was amazing. The room was very clean and spacious with an extremely comfortable bed. We did have a bit of trouble getting the shower to behave and the bathroom door stuck at the bottom but we were happy to put these down to the quirks of an old building. Cooked breakfast was freshly prepared and really good, the first course would perhaps have benefitted from some fresh fruit other than bananas every morning, but still very enjoyable. Other reviewers mention the car parking situation, it is a little inconvenient but the hotel is in the centre of an ancient town and car parking is obviously awkward. The town council would do better to reduce the high cost of the public car parks to encourage tourism, but this is not the hotel's fault. We would recommend Y Meirionnydd.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed a s a couple for 4 days in September.Lovely quiet room at he back with a view of Cader Idreis when the clouds lifted. Bed, bedding, bathroom all exceptionally clean and comfortable.All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful.
Had a packed breakfast one morning, as we were leaving early to climb Snowdon, which was very good and all that you could want. Breakfast in the dining room were excellent with good coffee.
Ate in their restaurant twice which is in the cellar of the old building. Again could not fault the quality of the food.
We did have a small incident when the hot bath tap wouldn't shut off. This was dealt with swiftly and efficiently, with offer of moving to another room and free drinks in the bar later.
Local plumber turned up and all was resolved.

Would definitely return and massively recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXANDER _123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonWhyte
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Comfortable, cosy, homely decor, friendly attentive service, great restaurant which would easily compete with restaurants in london, wonderful breakfast and all set in a lovely welsh town.

Other than the parking situation, i simply cannot fault this hotel, highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hello Jon and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, it really means a lot to all of us.
We especially appreciate your comments about our restaurant, very kind indeed.
Being in the centre of a very small town with narrow streets doesn't make parking easy but spaces do come up all the time, and of course we did offer to park your beautiful Aston ourselves!
Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you both again soon,
Marc, Nick and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was staying in the area and for my last night I opted for a place in th town of dolgelau.

I enjoyed my stay and the hosts were very friendly and the evening meal was also lovely.

Thanks for a great stay I will be back.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
24.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
20.6 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Meirionnydd

Property: Y Meirionnydd
Address: Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Y Meirionnydd 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a beautiful place to stay with the bonus of its own restaurant and bar in the centre of this beautiful Snowdonia town. Our three bedrooms and two suites are all en suite of course and feature White Company toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, free Wi Fi as well as many other little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Add in superb, personal service, a lovely full breakfast and of course our superb restaurant for dinner and you have the makings of a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Y Meirionnydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Meirionnydd Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
y Meirionnydd Hotel Dolgellau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing