We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. This hotel totally lives up to expectations and to the high expectations we had from booking via the website. The room was luxurious and spotless, and the breakfast is a great start to a day. The restaurant is a great bonus as is the well-stocked bar. A day's walking followed by sloe gin, a great meal with an extensive wine list and a wonderful room to retire to - what could be better?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Hello to you both and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, very kind indeed. We are always aware of the expectations our guests have of us, whether returning or coming for the first time and we do everything we can to ensure those expectations are met if not exceeded. We hope to see you again, even if it's for your next Christmas 'detox'!
Marc, Nick and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have just had three nights here as a family of four. We came to celebrate New Year and had such an amazing time. This hotel is small but perfectly formed with a truly delicious menu...we have yet to beat the fillet steak....and the wine list is enviable, and great value....The team led by Marc and Nick really work hard to make sure your stay is a special one. We have stayed here three times now at various times of the year and each time it delivers....well done to you all, you deserve all the great feedback.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Suesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hello to the four of you, and thank you Sue for writing such a lovely review for your latest stay over New Year. It's always a great time for our guests to relax after Christmas and gear up for the forthcoming year.
We are all so pleased you had a great time, it was and is always a pleasure to look after all of you whenever you come up, we are already looking forward to the next time we see you!
All the best for 2014,
Marc, Nick and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was our second stay here and we were not disappointed. Everything was perfect. We stayed in room Cadir, it was fabulous, so cosy. The view of Cadir was blocked by the rain clouds but we didn't care.
We stayed bed, breakfast and evening meal. Everything cooked to perfection and a wine list to die for. We also loved trying Brecon Gin, so much so I have purchased a bottle for myself.
It was a great weekend away from a busy work schedule and hectic family life. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelleaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hello to the both of you and thank you so much for writing another fantastic review, it really makes our day. The pre-Christmas stress is a great excuse for a little treat in Snowdonia, we glad you had a great weekend and really hope to see you both again,
Marc, Nick and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Myself and Wife have just enjoyed a relaxing weekend at Y Merionnydd. We were in the Mawddach room, which was spacious and comfortable. We stayed for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast at a cost of £99 a night (Winter Special). The owners and all their staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The restaurant food was excellent, tasty, a real treat.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you John for a great review. We are so glad you spoilt yourselves with our fantastic Winter Escape £99 deal, it's only on for a few weekends and is always very popular, especially as we have our own restaurant and bar to complement our lovely rooms. We look forward to seeing you both again in 2014,
Marc, Nick and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 8 and have just returned from a very comfortable stay at Y Meirionnydd. We booked for two nights and ate in their restaurant the first night. The food was very good, excellent shrimp tails and salmon starters followed by
wonderful lamb served with great local veg. Cheese board was excellent served with olive bread and oat crackers. The vegitarian option was limited but was very good indeed. Wine list was extensive and good value. We had a very good Merlot at 17 pounds. Local beers were also very good. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. We would recommend Y Meirionnydd.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Aine, thank you so much for your lovely comments, I think you deserve a round of applause for organising the weekend. It really was a pleasure to have you all staying and dining with us, we're a great place for getting together with friends and family without having to make the beds and wash up...leave all that to us!
We hope to see you all next year, we look forward to it,
Marc, Nick and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Having only just returned from this place I was determined to quickly put into words how fabulous this place really is...Mark and Nick were the perfect hosts and we felt at home the moment we walked in. The service is impeccable and we felt so relaxed and well cared for, a home away from home, we will definitely be returning, if not just for the absolutely delicious food!! Highly recommended, very relaxing atmosphere, gorgeous rooms...cannot fault it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandham-prescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just returned from a very comfortable stay at Y Meirionnydd. We booked for three nights intending to only eat in their restaurant the first night , but it was so good we ate there every night! The restaurant is in the cellar of the building in the old jail, and is cosy and beautifully decorated. The staff were very attentive and the food delicious. They also have an excellent wine list, the house champagne at under £30 was amazing. The room was very clean and spacious with an extremely comfortable bed. We did have a bit of trouble getting the shower to behave and the bathroom door stuck at the bottom but we were happy to put these down to the quirks of an old building. Cooked breakfast was freshly prepared and really good, the first course would perhaps have benefitted from some fresh fruit other than bananas every morning, but still very enjoyable. Other reviewers mention the car parking situation, it is a little inconvenient but the hotel is in the centre of an ancient town and car parking is obviously awkward. The town council would do better to reduce the high cost of the public car parks to encourage tourism, but this is not the hotel's fault. We would recommend Y Meirionnydd.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
24.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
157 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
23.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Meirionnydd

Address: Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Price Range: £73 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Y Meirionnydd 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a beautiful place to stay with the bonus of its own restaurant and bar in the centre of this beautiful Snowdonia town. Our three bedrooms and two suites are all en suite of course and feature White Company toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, free Wi Fi as well as many other little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Add in superb, personal service, a lovely full breakfast and of course our superb restaurant for dinner and you have the makings of a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Y Meirionnydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Meirionnydd Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
y Meirionnydd Hotel Dolgellau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing