We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel in Wales”
Review of Y Meirionnydd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Y Meirionnydd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel in Wales”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent accommodation with each room individually furnished with flair. Superior bathroom fittings and really comfortable bed. A great welcome and superb meal with local produce.
Couldn't fault it at all. Be careful with parking outside during the day but fine in the evening. In centre of pleasant town with some good shops and it makes a great base for touring this part of Wales. Loved it all.

Room Tip: Looked around before we left and they are all good. Rooms at front not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kindregards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello kindregards and thank you for leaving such a fantastic review, it sounds like you both had a great time with us.
Having dinner in our own lovely restaurant helps to make a stay with us a complete package, as we always say we don't do 'fine dining' or stuffy silver service, just relaxed and happy so you can feel relaxed too. Glad you got a sneak peek at our other rooms too, food for thought for the next time!
We really look forward to welcoming you both again,
Marc, Nick and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    49
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
202
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent accommodation delivered with some style in this beautiful old building in the centre of town. A great base for a weekend mountain biking in nearby Coed y Brenin. A very warm welcome and comfortable room. Meals superb. Worth the journey just for dinner. Highly recommended but be aware of the entertainment from the nearby pub during good weather and lack of a TV signal for soap addicts.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Nigel and family, thank you for leaving such a kind review.
Our stylish interiors really do give warmth and comfort to our Georgian building and complement our beautiful exterior.
Being in the centre of town makes this an ideal base both for all the activities (The Mawddach Trail, Coed Y Brenin biking centre, the beaches and the mountains to name but a few) as well as for shopping and just ambling around the narrow little streets. Couldn't think of a better way to spend a weekend myself!
We look forward to seeing you all again soon,
Marc, Nick and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Two of us, elderly father and son, have just enjoyed a four night break in the "Arran" room at Y Meirionnydd and we are happy to recommend the hotel to anyone seeking comfortable, good quality accommodation. The room itself was made up with very comfortable twin beds, was well maintained and spotlessly clean although, for anyone staying more than the one night, being the least expensive of the rooms available, it was perhaps a little lacking in space. It was difficult to get in/out of the room without brushing against the wall mounted, flat screen, modern TV (excellent reception) and had only one small, occasional chair so that reading or watching the said TV was possible only when lying in bed. Much of the surface available for depositing the contents of one's pockets overnight, medication, reading material, etc. was taken up with the (very welcome) tea/coffee making facilities. The en suite bathroom was immaculate containing an easily controlled, relatively spacious shower cubicle (no bath) although the wash hand basin was perhaps on the small side.
Breakfasts were excellent, any cooked choices being freshly prepared to order. The restaurant, open only in the evenings, was comfortable and cosy with well padded beams to avoid head injury to any tall (and not so tall!) diners. The menu had three/four choices for each course but, as it changed infrequently, for anyone staying for several nights it was rather limiting. However, the choices were excellent (meat, fish, vegetarian) and superbly cooked to order. A good selection of wines and other drinks was available either with meals or in the bar (which was the only other public room available, there being no separate lounge for relaxing other than in one's own room). Given the prices charged, the minor limitations mentioned caused no problems and are intended to encourage potential visitors to consider paying a little more for a bit more space if the intend to spend much leisure time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Arran was (I think) the only room available with TWIN as opposed to DOUBLE beds; it is the least exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Barrie, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review, very much appreciated by all of us.
As we only have five rooms the one you specifically chose, Arran, is the only one on the ground floor, helpful to you as the stairs were challenging for you. It can be a bit tight on space but is more than made up for by it's little comforts and touches and is well priced.
We hope to see both of you once again, it was a real pleasure making your stay so pleasant and enjoyable.
Kind regards
Marc, Nick and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had an excellent meal here whilst staying in Dolgellau this weekend. The service was really good, very friendly. We were offered drinks in the bar whilst we selected from the menu, before being taken to a lovely room downstairs which it appears used to be the jailhouse. Our meal was beautiful and all using locally sourced or welsh produce.We would definitely recommend this restaurant and if we ever get over that way again we'll be sure to visit again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I have just spent a lovely 2 nights at Y Meirionnydd. The room was amazing, with gorgeous decor, bed linen and fluffy towels. Luxury shower and toiletries were the icing on the cake.

The food in the restaurant was really really good, and at a reasonable price. Don't bother searching round for other restaurants in Dolgellau just eat here. We had an early race on Saturday morning so a packed breakfast was made up for us which was perfect for what we needed. Everything we ate was local and top quality.

The hosts were welcoming, friendly and the service was faultless. I can't recommend this place enough. So much that we only got back this afternoon and I am writing this review already.

We will be back ASAP. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshore77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a lovely room decorated to a high standard. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. Stayed here on a work trip but will certainly stay here again for a short break. Food in the restaurant is very very good and if you get the chance you should certainly try it for yourself. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cerilewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed an overnight stay at Y Meirionnydd. Very welcoming hosts, comfortable cozy room, delicious dinner and breakfast, both featuring locally sourced ingredients, would recommend highly...

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidandPenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dolgellau
1.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
23.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Meirionnydd

Property: Y Meirionnydd
Address: Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Y Meirionnydd 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a beautiful place to stay with the bonus of its own restaurant and bar in the centre of this beautiful Snowdonia town. Our three bedrooms and two suites are all en suite of course and feature White Company toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, free Wi Fi as well as many other little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Add in superb, personal service, a lovely full breakfast and of course our superb restaurant for dinner and you have the makings of a perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Y Meirionnydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Meirionnydd Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
y Meirionnydd Hotel Dolgellau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing