We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our 10th Anniversary”
Review of Penycoed Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolgellau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penycoed Hall
Ranked #22 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect for our 10th Anniversary”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here with our family and friends for our 10th Wedding Anniversary this summer. We had such a great experience from the get go that I was already dreaming up future trips to Dolgellau so we could come back. The owners, Nigel and Madge were lovely and so helpful in giving us information, be it places to visit, where to eat, or about options for mountain hikes. The whole experience blew my expectations from when we booked. Having been my first time at a bed and breakfast type venue, it definitely raised the bar for the future. The best part was the location as it was perfect in proximity to anywhere we would want to go and still felt secluded from the hustle and bustle.


My Review on the blog: http://www.bonnieroseblog.co.uk/2013/08/b-dolgellau-wales.html

Room Tip: I definitely recommend renting one of the apartments as you can have a self catering holiday with pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_bonnierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Twelve of us occupied the self catering apartments at Penycoed Hall. That was 7 adults and 5 kids. We had a great time. Madge and Nigel welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The two apartments were comfortable for all of us. The big sitting room on the 3rd floor was our gathering place for the week. The boys were given the run of the garden. They enjoyed the trampoline and the tree swing. We could see Cader Idris from the front of the hall. It was short walk to town where one can find supermarkets, a nice selection of places to eat, shops and a fun playground for kids and adults. Madge and Nigel were full of suggestions to make our stay enjoyable. The one drawback is that there are no laundry facilities on site and the launderette in town has closed.

Room Tip: Penycoed Hall offers self catering or bed and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tucsonteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The welcome was excellent, and the flat we stayed in was simply perfect for our walking holiday. The kitchen was very well equipped, the beds were comfortable and we had everything that we needed to feel at home. The breakfast was of a high standard, and Nigel and Madge (owners) were always very helpful and accommodating. Being able to come in and out of the room whenever we liked made the holiday very easy-going and extremely enjoyable. I would recommend Penycoed Hall to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searcy, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our group of five was offered a separate guest house behind the main building. Although modern, and not like the old charming main building, the amenities were great and the view was fantastic. The best thing about this hotel was the owners; so friendly and kind and ready to make anything easier. Very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

we paid a lot of money to stay here,very dirty,taps dripping all night,shower leaking all over the floor,breakfast was atrocious ,when arrived door was open no body about,rang mobile number left on the door,and was told gone shopping back in half an hour,waited in car for 3/4 off an hour and eventually was greeted by a very inebriated woman and we were told sorry to be late had to pick the kids up from school [no children to be seen] we were given a room key and told top of the stairs left or right you.ll find it,paid for 7 nights stayed one.

Room Tip: there is not any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penycoedhall, Owner at Penycoed Hall, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
I write in response to you recent review and would like to point out the following. In my opinion you, whoever you are did NOT stay here as you alleged last April. We have checked our customer lists and can account for everyone who DID stay and none of our guests paid for 7 nights and stayed 1. In fact that has NEVER happened in nearly 17 years of trading. We never take more than a 25% deposit with a booking and the balance is paid on departure. We never go out shopping and leave our home unlocked and yes, if we are expecting guests and we have to run an errand then we would leave a polite note. It would not be to collect the children from school though as we are both in our 60's and our youngest son is 23! Your accusation of being met by a very inebriated woman is outragious and obviously fabricated as you are I presume talking about my wife who would NEVER do such a thing (drunken driving as well it seems!) My wife and I go out of our way to be friendly and courteous and look after all our guests to the best of our ability. Maybe, as you've never been here, you should pop over and read the wonderful comments from people from all over the world who've written in our guest book. I have made an official complaint to Trip Advisor as I believe you have breached their rules with your personal accusations and would advise you to remove these comments before matters are taken further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were made to feel very welcome by Nigel and Madge (owners), nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, bed was very comfy-I slept like a log for the 3 nights we were there (normally I get up 2/3 times a night). Good base for various outings, and sightseeing trips. We had stopped off in the town last year and liked it, so this was why we chose to stay in the area. We stayed in the Victoria apartment, and loved the space it offered. We would definitely go back again if we were in the area. We loved that all we could hear were the birds, great garden, a real oasis.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here many time for mountainbiking trips. Very friendly and always happy to see us return. We usually have the flat at the top as it has a sitting room, own entrance and kitchen and we can come and go as we please.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
1.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.1 mi away
Heulwen Guest House
Heulwen Guest House
#1 of 1 in Llanfachreth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penycoed Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penycoed Hall

Property: Penycoed Hall
Address: Pen y Coed Hall Ffordd Penycefn, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2YP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Hotel Class:4 star — Penycoed Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penycoed Hall is an imposing property standing proudly in it's own grounds overlooking the town of Dolgellau. Breathtaking views of the Cader Idris mountain range can be enjoyed from the house or from the secluded gardens surrounding it. The Hall dates from 1889 and has a fascinating history. In it's time having been a purpose built mansion for the gentry, home to an Indian Prince and his English Princess wife and a Hall of Residence for a girls boarding school. The guest accommodation offered comprises of 2 self catering apartments each around 850 square feet, both having 2 bedrooms sleeping up to 6 people in each. There is a small recently re-furbished cottage which sleeps 3 people and bed & breakfast is offered in 2 additional rooms,sleeping 4 in the larger room and 2 in the smaller room. All accommodation has en-suite or private bathroom facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penycoed Hall Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing