We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penycoed Hall
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dolgellau
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolffanog Fawr(Talyllyn)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bae Abermaw(Barmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbour Hotel(Barmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
14
11
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
11
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here with our family and friends for our 10th Wedding Anniversary this summer. We had such a great experience from the get go that I was already dreaming up future trips to Dolgellau so we could come back. The owners, Nigel and Madge were lovely and so helpful in giving us information, be it places to visit, where to eat, or about options for mountain hikes. The whole experience blew my expectations from when we booked. Having been my first time at a bed and breakfast type venue, it definitely raised the bar for the future. The best part was the location as it was perfect in proximity to anywhere we would want to go and still felt secluded from the hustle and bustle.


My Review on the blog: http://www.bonnieroseblog.co.uk/2013/08/b-dolgellau-wales.html

Room Tip: I definitely recommend renting one of the apartments as you can have a self catering holiday with plenty of space for a 'home away from home' feel on your vacation. I enjoyed the top floor as it had wonderful sky lights!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_bonnierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Twelve of us occupied the self catering apartments at Penycoed Hall. That was 7 adults and 5 kids. We had a great time. Madge and Nigel welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The two apartments were comfortable for all of us. The big sitting room on the 3rd floor was our gathering place for the week. The boys were given the run of the garden. They enjoyed the trampoline and the tree swing. We could see Cader Idris from the front of the hall. It was short walk to town where one can find supermarkets, a nice selection of places to eat, shops and a fun playground for kids and adults. Madge and Nigel were full of suggestions to make our stay enjoyable. The one drawback is that there are no laundry facilities on site and the launderette in town has closed.

Room Tip: Penycoed Hall offers self catering or bed and breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tucsonteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The welcome was excellent, and the flat we stayed in was simply perfect for our walking holiday. The kitchen was very well equipped, the beds were comfortable and we had everything that we needed to feel at home. The breakfast was of a high standard, and Nigel and Madge (owners) were always very helpful and accommodating. Being able to come in and out of the room whenever we liked made the holiday very easy-going and extremely enjoyable. I would recommend Penycoed Hall to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our group of five was offered a separate guest house behind the main building. Although modern, and not like the old charming main building, the amenities were great and the view was fantastic. The best thing about this hotel was the owners; so friendly and kind and ready to make anything easier. Very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

we paid a lot of money to stay here,very dirty,taps dripping all night,shower leaking all over the floor,breakfast was atrocious ,when arrived door was open no body about,rang mobile number left on the door,and was told gone shopping back in half an hour,waited in car for 3/4 off an hour and eventually was greeted by a very inebriated woman and we were told sorry to be late had to pick the kids up from school [no children to be seen] we were given a room key and told top of the stairs left or right you.ll find it,paid for 7 nights stayed one.

Room Tip: there is not any
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penycoedhall, Owner at Penycoed Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

I write in response to you recent review and would like to point out the following. In my opinion you, whoever you are did NOT stay here as you alleged last April. We have checked our customer lists and can account for everyone who DID stay and none of our guests paid for 7 nights and stayed 1. In fact that has NEVER happened in nearly 17 years of trading. We never take more than a 25% deposit with a booking and the balance is paid on departure. We never go out shopping and leave our home unlocked and yes, if we are expecting guests and we have to run an errand then we would leave a polite note. It would not be to collect the children from school though as we are both in our 60's and our youngest son is 23! Your accusation of being met by a very inebriated woman is outragious and obviously fabricated as you are I presume talking about my wife who would NEVER do such a thing (drunken driving as well it seems!) My wife and I go out of our way to be friendly and courteous and look after all our guests to the best of our ability. Maybe, as you've never been here, you should pop over and read the wonderful comments from people from all over the world who've written in our guest book. I have made an official complaint to Trip Advisor as I believe you have breached their rules with your personal accusations and would advise you to remove these comments before matters are taken further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews