We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penycoed Hall
Nearby Hotels
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bae Abermaw(Barmouth)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buckley Arms Hotel(Dinas Mawddwy)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Dolguog Hotel(Machynlleth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
14
11
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
11
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Penycoed Hall is a great location in a beautiful part of Wales. Madge and Nigel, the owners, are incredibly friendly and helpful in suggesting local areas of interest - very good hosts. I would stay in this location again, no question, if ever I am in this part of Wales. The only things I would mention are, there was some initial confusion over which rooms and bathrooms were whose, but that was because we were part of a large group - 12 or so people. Also, there were no laundry facilities, at the Hall or anywhere in town, so someone planning for a longer stay needs to keep that in mind. Finally, there were a few things advertised on their website - such as toilet paper - that they identified as being provided, but when we arrived we learned that we had to buy that on our own. Not a big deal at all, but something that probably needs to be updated on their site, if it hasn't already been. Again, let me say, I would readily stay at this location again. Great, great, and very relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Call up Madge and Nigel. They are incredibly friendly and helpful in any way you could need. If you have any questions or room concerns, they could answer all your questions.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbpinkston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here with our family and friends for our 10th Wedding Anniversary this summer. We had such a great experience from the get go that I was already dreaming up future trips to Dolgellau so we could come back. The owners, Nigel and Madge were lovely and so helpful in giving us information, be it places to visit, where to eat, or about options for mountain hikes. The whole experience blew my expectations from when we booked. Having been my first time at a bed and breakfast type venue, it definitely raised the bar for the future. The best part was the location as it was perfect in proximity to anywhere we would want to go and still felt secluded from the hustle and bustle.


My Review on the blog: http://www.bonnieroseblog.co.uk/2013/08/b-dolgellau-wales.html

Room Tip: I definitely recommend renting one of the apartments as you can have a self catering holiday with plenty of space for a 'home away from home' feel on your vacation. I enjoyed the top floor as it had wonderful sky lights!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_bonnierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Twelve of us occupied the self catering apartments at Penycoed Hall. That was 7 adults and 5 kids. We had a great time. Madge and Nigel welcomed us and made us feel right at home. The two apartments were comfortable for all of us. The big sitting room on the 3rd floor was our gathering place for the week. The boys were given the run of the garden. They enjoyed the trampoline and the tree swing. We could see Cader Idris from the front of the hall. It was short walk to town where one can find supermarkets, a nice selection of places to eat, shops and a fun playground for kids and adults. Madge and Nigel were full of suggestions to make our stay enjoyable. The one drawback is that there are no laundry facilities on site and the launderette in town has closed.

Room Tip: Penycoed Hall offers self catering or bed and breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tucsonteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The welcome was excellent, and the flat we stayed in was simply perfect for our walking holiday. The kitchen was very well equipped, the beds were comfortable and we had everything that we needed to feel at home. The breakfast was of a high standard, and Nigel and Madge (owners) were always very helpful and accommodating. Being able to come in and out of the room whenever we liked made the holiday very easy-going and extremely enjoyable. I would recommend Penycoed Hall to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our group of five was offered a separate guest house behind the main building. Although modern, and not like the old charming main building, the amenities were great and the view was fantastic. The best thing about this hotel was the owners; so friendly and kind and ready to make anything easier. Very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews