We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing house, ace location”
Review of Penycoed Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolgellau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penycoed Hall
Ranked #22 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing house, ace location”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Stunning old mansion house with annex self-contained cottage where we stayed. Very comfortable accommodation, hugely spacious and fabulous views and garden from up on a hill looking out at Cader Idris. Very friendly and welcoming hosts, good cycle storage and only a short walk into Dolgellau town for food.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2010

It is with regret that I write this review. The people at Penycoed hall are lovely, so nice that I would have spent hour in their company. But the accomodation as such is not what we expected. It is a place with amazing potential in a great location, but the rooms are in need of some modernization. We had a room with a bathroom and were told to be the only ones in that floor, but our bathroom was connected to another room (locked, but we could perfectly hear the other guests' conversation as it they were by our side). There was considerable noise at night, and it took me quite long to sleep. The doors to the "apartment" we stayed in did not have a lock, so virtually anyone could access it. I feel that with a bit of an investment and some attention to detail this place could turn into a very good guest house. However, as it is now, I would probably consider other options in that price range before coming back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGI21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2010

what views.what a fantastic old mansion. this is the place to stop if your wanting to visit wales.location is fantastic and rooms are massive.
they owners will bend over backwards to help you.
I will go there again.
Dave Q

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightydquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We were welcomed by Nigel and he showed us our rooms and explained everything.
He also directed us to some nearby pubs for a good evening meal. The next morning we met his wife Madge and she cooked a delicious breakfast for us.
Both of them are very friendly and welcoming. The place is very nicely done; it used to be a building where the well-to-do girls learned there social skills after school-hours. And it still has that spirit, but with the comforts of today.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel_Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2006

The view of Dolgellau from the North side of its river, Afon Winion with Cadair Idris above it, is storybook perfection. The mountain itself has an almost biblical look to it with its rocky crags overseeing daily life in this charming hamlet.

Through the local TIC we found our lodging for our stay in Dolgellau, Penycoed Hall. We immediately bonded with the owners, Madge and Nigel who made us feel more than guests in their home but like family members home for a few days. The building itself is remarkable with a grand front entrance and an even grander staircase leading up to the bedrooms. We were the only guests for the period that we were there. Not that it would have mattered with its 18 to 24 inch thick walls we not have been disturbed by a rock and roll band playing in the next room.

The bathroom, with its giant tub was marvelous and appreciated by Joan as she indulged herself in a luxurious soak in its depths.

Everthing about Penycoed Hall pleased us. The room, the breakfast, the cleanliness and best of all the hospitality shown to us by Madge & Nigel.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ronricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Dolserau Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brithdir
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 34 in Dolgellau
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ivy House
Ivy House
#15 of 34 in Dolgellau
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
Tyddyn Mawr Farmhouse
#6 of 34 in Dolgellau
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#5 of 34 in Dolgellau
189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penycoed Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penycoed Hall

Property: Penycoed Hall
Address: Pen y Coed Hall Ffordd Penycefn, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2YP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Hotel Class:4 star — Penycoed Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penycoed Hall is an imposing property standing proudly in it's own grounds overlooking the town of Dolgellau. Breathtaking views of the Cader Idris mountain range can be enjoyed from the house or from the secluded gardens surrounding it. The Hall dates from 1889 and has a fascinating history. In it's time having been a purpose built mansion for the gentry, home to an Indian Prince and his English Princess wife and a Hall of Residence for a girls boarding school. The guest accommodation offered comprises of 2 self catering apartments each around 850 square feet, both having 2 bedrooms sleeping up to 6 people in each. There is a small recently re-furbished cottage which sleeps 3 people and bed & breakfast is offered in 2 additional rooms,sleeping 4 in the larger room and 2 in the smaller room. All accommodation has en-suite or private bathroom facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penycoed Hall Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing