We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aber Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aber Cottage
Ranked #19 of 34 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended B&B”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Aber Cottage is a meticulously clean but very cosy B&B. Sarah and Graham were very welcoming hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic cooked breakfast. Secure private parking is a real bonus......

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thanks for your comments. We will be pleased to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Aber Cottage, we really loved it. Sarah and Graham made us really welcome form the moment that we arrived. We had a wonderful stay, the room was excellent and the breakfast even better, and the private parking was an added bonus. We will definitely be paying them another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leikanger, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We are four Norwegian women that ran the Wales trail marathon this year (2012). Based on earlier tripadvisor reviews we chose Aber Cottage as our B&B, and the hosts Sarah and Graham didn't let us down. They have taken over the place in February and refurbished the whole B&B. And they've done a wonderful job. You really get a sense of old days looking at the stone walls, the beams in the ceiling and the not too horistontal floor. But the rooms are high standard, with comfortable beds and good bath rooms. And clean. A small detail like big, high quality towels were appreciated by tired (and dirty) runners. As the bus doesn't go too often to Coed-y-Brenin in the morning, Graham offered to drive us. He even woke up very early to prepare a wonderful breakfast for us. The day after we had better time for breakfast, and could choose from a big menu of different breakfast variations. Sarah gave us good tips on which restaurants to visit (and which to avoid). And so we had two perfect evenings out at Sospan and Dylan-something (can't remember the name). The location of this B&B is straight in the centre; but although the road passes centimetres outside the main door (take care when you exit), the traffic did not bother us not even in the night. This is a very quiet village. I guess there are many nice B&Bs in Dolgellau--but if you choose this one you for sure will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinnorway_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Aber Cottage is fantastic little find. We have stayed in Dolgellau a few times over the last couple of years as it is a great base for exploring North Wales. We stayed for two nights over the Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend. Sarah & Graham were lovely hosts and very welcoming. The breakfast was amazing, the rooms were perfect. We will defintely be back and would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is a cottage style B and B but with the added bonus of being fairly central in Dolgellau. Also secure off road parking is an added attraction of this place (if you've been to Dolgellau you'll know what I mean).Just an overnight stay here but I was made most welcome, nothing's too much trouble.The room was cosy and well kitted out. Breakfast was fine with plenty of choices. Very good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquilasEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Travelling the country working as an ecologist I have stayed in my fair share of hotels and B&Bs over the years and it's fair to say that Aber Cottage ranks as one of my favourites. Barbara is a fantastic host; friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The rooms are cosy, and Barbara's great artwork can be found in each room within the house. The breakfast is very good, not greasy at all and there is plenty of it! Aber Cottage is a relatively small B&B but that adds to the charm of this place; a cosy little cottage ideal for couples to enjoy (and there is a large family room if you want to bring the kids). If you work in the area (like myself) it is also ideally located for local services (shops, pubs, restaurants, etc). The Aber Cottage must be one of the few B&Bs in Dolgellau that has its own carpark, this is a unique feature in this town as parking is restricted throughout Dolgellau. In summary, this is a fantastic place to stay, the prices are extremely cheap when compared to other B&Bs in the area and the service is of the highest calibre- ENJOY.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcologicaLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Barbara Bebb was a perfect host - very friendly and helpful and made a superb breakfast. Useful local knowledge (e.g. avoiding the anti-English pub!). Lovely old cottage with pleasant room and features. Would highly recommend - brill! :D

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SodBoyEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dolgellau hotels
0.1 mi away
Ivy House
Ivy House
#15 of 34 in Dolgellau
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 34 in Dolgellau
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
Dwy Olwyn Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 34 in Dolgellau
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bryn Mair House
Bryn Mair House
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
#3 of 34 in Dolgellau
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aber Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aber Cottage

Property: Aber Cottage
Address: Smithfield Street, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aber Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aber Cottage is graded as 3 Star by Visit Wales.The guesthouse is ideally situated in the town and within easy walking distance to excellent restaurants and inns. Guests will appreciate the ambience of the traditional stone cottage that benefits from good quality furniture and fittings for your comfort, with modern en-suite facilities to all rooms, TV, Internet access, complimentary tea/coffee, complimentary toiletries etc. Car parking, one per room, is in our own private car park with secure access.The guest sitting room and dining room has been decorated in a traditional style, as is the rest of the house, including guest bedrooms. There is a traditional style upholstered suite in the sitting room for guests to relax in at any time. The dining room has a built in breakfast bar where guests can help themselves to cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and fresh juice before enjoying their hot breakfast order.Aber Cottage is over 250 years old and due to the nature of the building, it may not be suitable for children under 8 years, or for those with limited mobility. Sorry, no pets allowed inside the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aber Cottage Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing